Choosing a Native American Hand Drum with Video

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

image2.jpeg

The Native American hand drum is one of the most sacred items owned by anyone within a tribe. Some tribes do not allow women to play along with men, while other tribes are led by women. Mostly women in the northern territories are known to hold ceremony with a drum while a man is present. I happen to come from a long line of very strong medicine women and we use our drums to connect with Spirit, Creator.

I was not born on a reservation, but as I got older I began to understand the meaning of speaking through music. The hand drum is one way to connect to culture, spirituality and earth. I found that as soon as I had awakened to my Native American lineage, I wanted a hand drum. At the time, I was not sure as to what type of skin or hide I wanted, the size, shape, or sound. It took me five years to figure all of this out. So I hope this writing will assist you, if you happen to be looking for a hand drum.

IMG_8030.JPG

After years of searching throughout the United States and Europe I found that buffalo skin was the right sound for me. I went through store after store searching and testing many drums for the right feel and sound. A hand drum can be made from Deer, Elk, Buffalo, Horse, Sheep, or Goat skin. Buffalo skin is not very common and I chose to have my drum made the old way. This is done without chemicals and is scraped. Shopping for the right sound is also very important. The sound will become your voice in ceremony and maybe just playing in a drum circle. I use my drum for healing and for sending out positive vibrations to those in need. As far as size, it does matter! At first I was told that I should get a small drum since it was more accepting for women to hold a small drum. Well, I guess blood runs thick as I never felt compelled to purchase a small drum. As it turned out, after speaking with my drum maker the only size she had at the time of my purchase was an 18". So that's what I bought and I do not regret it at all.

The first photo shows you the hand painted eagle I chose and the special markings that mean protection and healing. The second photo shows you the natural moose skin drum blanket I chose to keep the drum moisture sealed and preserved. The drum should always be put away with either a drum blanket or bag.

IMG_8036.JPG

The back of the drum is a signature by the maker and each drum maker may have a different design. I happened to choose a hand drum maker that makes a full hand holder made out of deer skin. This holder is soft to the touch and will mold to your hand size. It feels lovely!

image1.jpeg

Another important tool is the drumstick. The drumstick should be soft on your drum and easy to hold. I happen to have found mine in Taos, New Mexico. The maker of the drumstick finds the sticks in the desert and makes these awesome sticks from natural cactus.

IMG_8044.JPG

An important fact to remember is that any type of hide you choose, it must be greased twice a year. I found that bear grease is the way to go. It doesn't smell the best but it will not go bad and it will assure that your drum does not crack and keeps its sound.

I tested out the four corners of the drum sound for you to hear, I did not stand it up as I was recording at the same time.

If you liked this article steemit! My next blog will touch on the story of my eagle feather, along with photos.

By Casandra, Eagle Medicine

Sort:  

Congratulations @eaglespirit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sweet! These badges are a great idea. Thank you so much.

Congratulations @eaglespirit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yay! My first badge. 🤩

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33