The Unique & Amazing Features of Camotes Island and Its Locals | The Hidden story Unveiled

in #culture6 years ago

01.jpg
Hello there Steemians!

Today I am going to share to you an unforgettable experience in the perspective of a first-timer in an island full of surprises. Without further ado, let's begin!

People who had been there always highlight their travel experiences, their feeling of satisfaction when they travel to this amazing place but today, let us pay attention to what Camotes Island can offer, the story untold in the community, the craft that is almost forgotten to be given honor. Let us be astound by their culture which made the locals unique in their own way.

I have always been wanting to visit the Island of Camotes since college days. I had a classmate who was from there who kept inviting everyone to come to her hometown. Many of the people I know of have been talking about how beautiful the sceneries are from its pristine white beaches to its gorgeous caves that the travelers have been crazy about. I finally got the chance to visit this most talked about island in Cebu.

02.jpg

On the night before the trip, I thought of the things I wanted to do in the island and the topics I wanted to write about. I've been to other islands before but I was with my relatives so I relied on their plans all the time but this time, I had to think of the things to do since it was just the two of us. So I looked up in the internet and checked some bloggers' write ups on what they usually do when they stayed in the island. As expected, they focused on the traveling experience itself, how they get there, what transportation to take, what food to eat, what tourist spots to visit, etc. What I saw never satisfied me.

03.jpg

We settled our things and called the front desk to take our first-ever day-tour in the island. We were very excited to discover the places we've never been. We were able to make a deal with the tour guide/ motorcycle driver who happened to be the husband of the receptionist. Along the way to our destination in the same town, I thought of having a small talk/short interview with the driver. When I asked him about the "Amakan-makers" I saw earlier, I was intrigued of his answer. They were the only people in the entire island who are running the business and what's more intriguing, they are family!

I was flabbergasted! Immediately, I asked the driver to bring us to the place where this family manufactures their craft. In my mind, I thought that they have this workshop or a small indoor area where they make these things. I had a chance to chit-chat with these young ladies about.

what they are good at doing - bamboo weaving and I found out that this small yard outside their hut is where they make these high-quality bamboo-weaved walls.

04.jpg
Bamboo-weaving is a skill that has been passed on by their forefathers. The fathers of their fathers started this family business and it is still progressing until this generation up to the next. The process of weaving the bamboo is a technique which only them know about it. They know how many bamboo strips to be weaved at the same time until they make a whole piece. I asked them why only their family line is doing the business, one lady said she doesn't know. The other one stated that nobody in the neighborhood dared to approached them asking how is it made. The older lady said that probably it was too difficult for the people to do the same because of the scrutiny of the job.

05.jpg

Camotes Island is composed of 2 islands. It has 4 municipalities namely, San Francisco, Todela, Poro and Pilar. San Francisco which the locals pronounced as "Samprans" is the biggest town in the island while Pilar is the only municipality that is separated in another island. I went around in the morning and was stunned by the view of the villages around. Most of the houses in San Francisco, Todela and Poro are made of - guess what? Yes, "Amakan" that the family were making for decades now.

06.jpg

UPVote.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74