The Translation Trip (Introducing myself)

in #culture6 years ago (edited)

I'm Daisy Cools, an eternal newcomer living, playing and songwriting in several European cities. Currently I’m working on my next album at Rocktown Studio, Rotterdam. Four versions of an album, actually, cause I’m translating all the songs from English to French, Italian & Portuguese. And singing them all in these languages. A mission that scares the hell out of me and yet makes me ridiculously happy. A translation trip leading up to four albums. Each of them in one language.

French, Italian and Portuguese. Three fine sounding languages indeed. The thing is, I don’t master them fully yet. Far from fully, if I’m honest.

I know this may seem like an absurd plan. But I do have my reasons.

For starters, I’ve come to love the languages! A side-effect of spending six months in Lisbon, seven months in Palermo and three months in Paris performing and writing songs. While I lived in these cities I should’ve used the native tongue in as many conversations as possible. I didn’t. I did try to study them on and off, however. Of course that’s not enough.
So if you’d suddenly start a conversation with me in Italian about anything beyond food, wine or weather-related topics, you’d shock me into silence. I’m determined now to improve my skills in order to have more meaningful conversations. And be able to eavesdrop in as many countries as possible.

Either that or we can just keep talking about Pinot Grigio.

More importantly though: I wonder what will happen to the songs. If the music stays the same, how will the atmosphere be different depending on which of the four languages I use?

I'd love to take you through the process of making the album(s), of translating and slowly getting better at speaking French, Italian & Portuguese. I’ll explore how I can speed up the learning process of a language, or three at a time for that matter. And I’ll show you Rocktown Studios, Rotterdam where the recording process is already taking place. I’m traveling back and forth between The Netherlands, Portugal, Italy and France as well and will show you some of my favourite places there as well.

Join me on this translation trip and get in touch. I’m really excited to explore Steemit and see the content you’re creating.

Sort:  

Greeting @daisycools! Welcome to Steemit and good luck!!

Hey Daisy

@daisycools, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote!
Will you give me a follow? I'll follow you back in return!

Welcome to steemit @daistcools .
stemian waiting for your cool post.
Enjoy...🤗

Thanks! Nice to meet you! :-)

nice to meet you too🤗

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

Thanks, Heigo! Nice to meet you here. Excited to start exploring!

Hi @daisycools
Welcome to steemit !!
Allow me introduce you to #steemschool as await your album
#steemschool helps you achieve your steem goals to join click on the link https://discord.gg/Bw5UdN9 and if you are yet to register on discord you can do so with the linkhttps://discord.gg/Bw5UdN9

Hi @Daisycools welcome to the community! Enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43