I was in a cult! Why I left and found real happiness as a result.

in #cult7 years ago

IMG_20170218_143632_388.jpg

A very pregnant 18 year old was dunked under water in a pool, when she emerged she was deemed One of Jehovah's Witnesses (JW). That very pregnant teen is my mother. She was 8 months pregnant with me when that all took place. She and my father raised myself and my five other siblings as Jehovah's Witnesses. My entire life was engulfed by the teachings. I was the weird kid who sat alone in the library while the others indulged in birthday cupcakes, I was the girl knocking on your door any given day of the week. I was a devoted JW who tried her hardest to make Jehovah God, her parents, the congregation and eventually her husband proud of her. I should note that when you are raised as one of JW's your entire social network is contained within them. I was homeschooled from 7th to 12th grade and in that time there were no normal highschool friendships or experiences had. Through all of this I always felt something wasn't right. At 30 years old I had it with marriage and the cult. I wanted out! The problem was, I didn't know how to get out. You see when you leave the organization all family and friends are instructed to shun you. If they do not they are liable to be cast out themselves. Knowing that you're going to lose everyone you know and you're entire support system is more than most can bear. That's why most JW's stay in. Its a lonley place when all of that is taken from you. I had the added stress of being in a very unhappy marriage for 10 years that I entered into at 19 years old. The marriage though turned into my way out. I'll post more on this soon. Love and light Steemit Friends 💜

Sort:  

That's horrible. I hope you have a blessed life and a positive future.

Thank you very much ✌

That's TERRIBLE. I don't understand any organization that teaches "shunning". I'm glad you got out and are now spreading more peace and happiness in the world of steem (and I'm sure other places). :) Cheers

Love and Light to you too. Thank you so much for sharing this story with us. Let's be friends. I just followed you.

Thanks for sharing. I'm also a recovering JW. I'm now following you, if you'd like to follow back. I will be writing about my experiences as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60