You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cult of Florida :: The Koreshans of South Florida

in #cult6 years ago

So true. My brother-in-law, @preparedwombat, writes a lot about history on his blog, even in 50-word short stories. It sort of brings characters back to life for me. It's really neat because it's such a digestible amount of information, and it piques my interest. I often go searching for more info. Here's one of my favorites: The Art of the Deal.

Sort:  

That little story from @preparedwombat...was brutal (at least the historical context made it so). I may have heard the story back in my high school days, but perhaps not. There are millions of those kinds of stories throughout history, and so few of them ever get told.

It's true. Well, when you think about the many events that occur in even one life, and then you start to multiply by everyone alive today and throughout history, it becomes so overwhelming. The neat thing about plaques (and biographies, and historical fiction, for that matter) is that although they can't possibly capture the complexity of a person's life, you can hone in on its most important or startling highlights.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99