Viva Cuba!

in #cuba6 years ago

When the announcement that Americans can finally travel to Cuba, I knew that I had to get in before it became a tourist hub filled with Marriotts and Hiltons all over. I wanted to experience the culture as authentically as I could. So when my girlfriend surprised me with a trip there, I was excited to say the least.

My first steps into Cuba it felt like I was in a complete time warp. Everything seemed.... vintage. The airport itself was very small with no air conditioning and it literally took about an hour for our bags to come through baggage claim (which a friend of mine warned me about). There is no free internet connection, we had to continuously purchase WiFi cards and even with those cards the reception was very dicey. The streets are just like in the movies--filled with vintage drop top Chevys and people who all embody the history and spirit of Cuba.

IMG_2873.JPG

IMG_2872.JPG

The other thing I noticed almost immediately was that most people in Cuba do not speak in English (shocker I know haha). Luckily my girlfriend has a conversational knowledge of Spanish and was able to communicate with the natives so that we wouldn't get ripped off, even though I'm sure people still took advantage of the fact that we were tourists.

First thing we did was take a mini tour in a classic drop top Chevy around the city of Havana. Our driver played reggaeton and hip hop and my girlfriend and I enjoyed the views as the fresh air blew past us. We stopped at one of the local restaurants and had a meal that cost us next to nothing. Our day was mostly a sight seeing day to get us familiar with the city, the people and the culture. We also got to visit the cafe that Ernest Hemingway used to frequent to write.

IMG_2845.JPG

IMG_3227.JPG

IMG_2895.JPG

IMG_2879.JPG

Cuba really comes alive in the night time. People, young and old, crowd the 5 mile-long strip of Malecon at night where they dance, drink, and socialize. Malecon is a street that stretches along the coast of Havana and ends in the neighborhood of Vedado. It's definitely a point of socialization in Cuba.

IMG_2933.JPG

IMG_2934.JPG

IMG_3036.JPG

IMG_2975.JPG

During our stay in Cuba, my girlfriend and I were able to successfully establish a rapport with a man, Adolfo, who agreed to drive us to wherever we wanted to go throughout our vacation. One city we wanted to visit was Viñales. Viñales is where all the tobacco farms are and where they begin the process of the undefeated Cuban cigars. It's important to note that Viñales is 2.5 hours outside of Havana. But it's worth the trip. We were able to visit the tobacco farms, purchase reasonably priced cigars, and eat at a restaurant where they gave us a table filled with food and desserts for about $14.

IMG_3075.JPG

IMG_3062.JPG

IMG_3066.JPG

IMG_3080.JPG

IMG_3079.JPG

IMG_3113.JPG

IMG_3209.JPG

IMG_3215.JPG

Overall, Cuba was one of the most distinctive trips we've taken. Their love and knowledge of their country and their people are to be admired. Have any of you travelled to Cuba or have intentions of visiting the island? Let's talk!

IMG_3187.JPG

Sort:  

hy @kingkha , follow me back

I would love to go to Cuba some day. It looks amazing! Thanks so much for sharing your adventures there!

lovly place i want to go there ........plz follow me back ...i am new member of steemit.com

plz follow me back

Congratulations @kingkha! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kingkha! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74