A Day In The Life

in #ctp4 years ago


I am Blain Jones and this is a day in my life!

5:30 a.m. - This is usually when I wake up. I get up early because I have to, not because I choose to... If I am able to sleep in, I usually wake up automatically around 7:30 or 8:00. Plus around this time my dogs (Max and Molly) are clickity clacking up and down and around the bedroom and hallway because they are hungry!

6:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. - I work Monday through Friday at a "job". I have been doing this job for 17 years and only have a few more years left until I am able to go completely online and work from home. This is where the majority of my time is spent.

5:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. - This is my work online time. This is my favorite part of my day and will be the longest portion of this post!

5:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. - This is my prep and server maintenance time. All of my sites are on one server and I have to maintain that server in order to keep everything functioning properly. During this time I check for updates and schedule anything that needs to happen. When scheduling, I like to set everything to run automated and for it to run starting about 1:00 a.m. which is outside of peak times for the server.

5:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. - This is where I start to get into the nitty gritty of what I have going on. I have a bad case of A.D.H.D., which for me, means that I am working on up to 15 different things at one time. Currently on my project list are things like integrating the CTP Token into an IPN (which for me is building a whole new snazzy system to be able to take care of all payments from one singular site), I am also working on a fun game that Jon and I thought of with the help of one Jenn Nieto (a.k.a. PixiePost), this game will help people build their lists with active subscribers because the subscribers are... I'm not going to give away the secret just yet LOL. I am also working on a cool form builder, which will allow you to take any form from any autoresponder and quickly and easily make it PRETTY! Then you will just copy and paste a small amount of code to your website and BAM, pretty subscribe form!

6:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. - This is my "me" time. Which essentially means that I am gonna grab some dinner!

7:00 p.m. - 8:15 p.m. - This is webinar time! Three times a week Jon and I get on camera and talk about random things, and the best part is that everyone is invited! We stream the webinar on many different platforms!

8:15 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. - This used to be where I would continue to work on building new snazzy features for CTP and ctptalk, but I have had to adjust to allow me time to be able to write blog posts. The goal is to get one post out every couple days, but I would like to be able to get at least a post a day. So that is where I am currently aiming!

9:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. - This is the last couple of dedicated hours that I have to work on things within the site, I try to spend this time working on one or two of my many projects, but I also make sure to take time to answer support tickets and solve any issues that have been found recently on one of the sites. The biggest and hardest thing for a website owner to do is to ensure they are keeping up with the times and updating all aspects of their site to today's standards (html5, php7+, mysqli, https, etc..). This is also the time where I look at my mindmaps and checklists to make sure I am getting done what I need to get done!

11:00 p.m. - 5:30 a.m. - SLEEPY TIME!!!!!!!

So that is my current schedule for most days of the week. If I do not have a webinar, then I usually make sure to interact with Jon and see if there is anything urgent that needs work done on CTP or ctptalk.

The weekends are also a great time for me because it allows me to get into the "zone" and gives me the opportunity to work for 12-14 hours straight with music blasting in the background and really gets me focused on what I am trying to do.

A lot of my time is spent on my business, because that is what my passion is and that is my goal. My wife is really understanding and understands that this is my passion so there is no issue with me working a lot. She loves her job and what she does and will sometimes spend 18+ hours a day at work building her career and her dream. We support each other and that is the goal!

I am sure there are a few things that I have missed throughout my day, but this gives you an overview of what I do. If you love your business and it is your passion, you will ALWAYS find time to make it happen. I thought a few weeks ago that I would NEVER have time to be able to create blog posts, but here we are... Funny how that works!

Sort:  

Blain! This was a great blog. It's amazing how much work you truly do. But as you said, it doesn't feel like work when you are doing your passion. I am so glad you have the support as well. It's wonderful when you & your wife can do that while working on your individual dreams.

So glad to know you & have you as half of the backbone of CTP. Keep on crushing it! 🙌🧚

Great post, Blain... And the third one in three days in a row? :)

Your schedule is really tight and if you are really sticking to it every day, that is a really big thing... Because, it's ain't easy...

You are doing a great job here and thank you for that!

That's a busy schedule Blain, and great that you have time to make blog posts now, I have noticed you started to make them just when I got close to kick you out of the top 10 on the CTP rich list, stay awesome.

Congrats to you Blain that you have a schedule that you seem to have down pat. I use to be like that then life threw me a few curve balls that taught me I have to take things easier so I went into semi retired mode and put the onus on others. I have to admit that it all lead to me getting out more and just enjoying what is outside my front door. Keep up your efforts I can see that it will take you far.

I know that Blain keeps these kind of hours because of the early days and late nights I have hit him up on something I needed done. We keep similar hours, except I work all the time on my business and have been since 1971.

Hello Blain! So nice to see your post 😊😊 busy is good! Have a great day! 👋

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing your passion Blain, I really enjoy your blog posts. More, please!

Thank you for a look into your regular day. That is busy! I really appreciate all you do for us in the CTP community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73