Exodus Wallet and Dogecoin - Trust, but Verify!

in #crytpocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I was freaking out!  I opened my Exodus wallet it showed that my $200 worth of Dogecoin (about 50,000 coins) had just turned into $100,000 dollars. 

I seemed too good to be true.   Life Lesson:  Trust, but verify! 

I want to give the benefit of the doubt to someone (or something, in this case).  But I am responsible for and have the right to verify the facts.  

Something did not add up right.  My gut was telling me to check the facts.
 
Guess what?  There was a problem with an API (application program interface).

This is the message I received from Exodus Support:

That is a bug in the Cryptocompare API. We’ve reached out to Cryptocompare to get it fixed as soon as possible.

So Exodus has two pricing sources:

  1. The default pricing source is cryptocompare.com which Exodus believes to be more accurate, but at present has a bug that highly exaggerates Dogecoin valutations. 
  2. The second pricing source is coinmarketcap.com which was added at customers' request.

If you are having the same problem that I had (and you have gotten over your heart attack), then you can follow these steps to change your pricing source from cryptocompare.com to coinmarketcap.com.

For Windows or Linux, check out:
https://exodus.groovehq.com/knowledge_base/topics/how-to-open-the-developer-menu-on-windows-and-linux

For Mac, check out:
support.exodus.io/knowledge_base/topics/how-to-open-the-developer-menu-on-macos

Sort:  

Awesome
Thanks for the links bro.
I had the same issue but now I know how to solve it

Glad to help! I am just waiting for the day when Dogecoin explodes and the total is not an error.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34