I'm Addicted to Crypto!

in #crytpocurrency7 years ago

And even though I still have a LOT to learn about it, I can’t seem to get enough. Of course, I’m sure that I’m probably not as far gone as many others, but I’ve found myself sitting through videos about alt-coins that don’t even exist yet that will operate on systems I can’t even understand and still, I can’t turn away from it.

When I first heard about Bitcoin, I thought it was an interesting concept and figured that it would actually probably do well over time; but I still didn't get involved - mainly due to technical issues and laziness. I didn't really know how it worked exactly and didn't really want to take the time to figure it out.

So fast forward a few years and I'm finding myself watching a TV show called Startup all about a hacker who builds a cryptocurrency on the blockchain, gets involved with some dangerous and unstable investors and has all sorts of crazy adventures. I thought the show was pretty interesting and it was in nice primer into the subject of cryptocurrency, but the real catalyst for my involvement didn’t come until a couple days later after I had just finished watching the entire season. One of my business partners approached me and asked me if I'd ever heard of cryptocurrency - a light went on in my head and a big smile came across my face. I knew this was going to be a cool conversation.

 

I told him that I knew it was built on top of the blockchain technology and that its price fluctuates and that Bitcoin is a cryptocurrency that's all I know. He responded back to me that's more than most people that I've talked to know about it.

 

He began to tell me about his experiments in crypto and how he had begun piecing together a “ rig” to mine cryptocurrency. After a very brief introduction to the concept of building computers optimized for mining and some basic mathematics, he was able to show that he had already earned a little bit of money mining crypto, on the machine he built using several graphics cards.. He approached me with an investment opportunity - he needed an investor to fund the construction of a new computer that he would source the parts for and build so that he could start mining different cryptocurrencies including Etherium.

I know this is a very smart guy - he's a great marketer, he runs a software business and he's a part of my investment meetup group as well as an active business partner in real estate - so when he tells me he spent some time studying this and that he was starting to make a little bit of scratch with it - I believe him. I don't take a long time to make investment decisions - I look at the facts, I look at the risks and rewards and I make my move.

That night , I couldn’t sleep! - The more I thought about it, the more I imagined the possibilities. Not only did I want to make a move with him on this project but I was very excited about it. I won't bog you down with the details but basically I loaned him some money and he built a rig with six graphics cards and now it’s cranking away 24 hours a day. My share of the profits are going into building another rig and we're going to continue doing this. I'm hoping that as different alt-coins come into play and values rise and fall, we will be able to mine different types of currencies - not just Bitcoin or Ethereum or Dash, but several different types of crypto, so when the market is right we would simply set up the rigs to mine the right currencies that extracts the most value for the least amount of power, thereby growing our portfolio. He uses some software to track the value of bitcoin and other multiple alt-coins, and it automatically runs a calculation based on how much power it takes to mine it. This is what he uses to determine what he wants to mine on any given day. It’s been working pretty well so far.

So once I got turned onto this , I began trying to think of different ways to cash in on the new digital gold rush. A little known fact about the 1849 gold rush was that more money made by the stores that supported the miners that by the miners themselves , Sure - there are some men who came, saw and conquered - but for the vast majority of the rest of them- most miners arrived full of hope and left as broken men – but the stores that sold them shovels and pans fared out very well through it all. It occurred to me that there should be a way sell shovels and pans for Cryptocurrency too.

I started trying to study as much as I could about it. I have to admit that it's still very confusing to me but I at least have a grasp on some of the basic aspects of it. I think learning about the blockchain technology helped me wrap my head around it a little bit better. I began looking for different places to get Bitcoin and other cryptos and started finding faucets online that pay you free bitcoin for clicking on buttons or watching ads and started finding video games that play to win Bitcoin and suddenly I found myself in this whole cryptocurrency world where I was looking for other opportunities to be involved and to learn more.

It was then that I came across Steemit and begin to learn the power of a decentralized social media platform and how you can get paid for making posts. Now I’m trying to learn everything I can about Steem . Now I begin to notice that all the videos I'm watching her all about Steemit and cryptocurrencies and forks and all sorts of other stuff I never thought I'd learn about just two months ago.

 

I never would have thought I'd be interested in all this stuff and now I can't seem to get enough of it so I'm really looking forward to working with this community and learning more about it and hopefully will be able to contribute something to it. I've even start writing a couple articles about cryptocurrency, something I never thought I would do - but as I learned more about it and I do more research I get more and more excited about the possibilities and I think I've come to the realization that - I'm addicted to crypto.

If you’re interested in articles about investing , real estate , or cpyptocurrency , please check out some of my other articles:

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@jorlauski/hedge-funds-warming-up-to-cryptocurrency

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@jorlauski/new-crypto-backed-by-reits

https://steemit.com/realestate/@jorlauski/how-to-structure-your-next-fix-and-flip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43