New to Steemit - My experience with Cryptokitties

in #crytokitties7 years ago (edited)

Hi, so first off I am 51yr old woman who has recently got into Crypto currencies (September) and this week purchased some Cryptokitties. If you are interested in buying some you need to install Chrome and install 'Metamask' which is a Chrome extension, look it up on Youtube or Google this part if you are not sure. It wasn't that complicated if I can do it I am sure you can. Once you have 'Metamask' which is essentially an Eth wallet linked to your Cryptokitties account.

I made a point of limiting my budget to £40 worth of Ether, I think it's important to limit yourself unless you have lots of money which you can potentially lose I would recommend you decide before hand what you can afford to lose. If you are reading this you probably already have an awareness of how volatile the Crypto market place can be so I always have in mind to only use as much as I am prepared to lose if it does all go belly up.
Here is a bit about what I have learnt...
Firstly be warned it took me numerous tries to purchase a kitty( which you can be charged for only tiny amounts but it's still a charge). The ap looks great and I can see why it is so popular the virtual collectable kitties are a bit like what we used to call 'trump' cards or if you are younger 'Pokemon' cards. The site is slow, buggy and there are alot of people as well as bots purchasing these kitties, so be patient and be ready to yell at your PC when it's just taking too long and someone else gets the kitty you are after. I had read that the younger the generation the better also the speed of the cat (processing and resting time after 'siring') and to look at the kitties 'Cattibutes' these are a list of attributes each kitty has and some are rarer qualities than others. If you want to check how rare the qualities are check out- https://cryptokittydex.com/cattributes.
I 'sired' (mated) two of my virtual cats and another unique kitty was born (which actually was quite exciting), but with each transaction you are charged this can all add up, so you need to keep an eye on how much 'gas' you use with each transaction the more gas the faster the transaction. So if you are buying and possibly competing with other buyers you might want to spend more on gas to rush the sale through but if you are 'siring' and not in a rush you may want to alter the amount of gas it just means the transaction or birth of your new baby kitty may take longer. To check 'gas' rates go to -https://ethgasstation.info/ I didn't realise this when I purchased my first two but by the third I realised you can change the gas rates. So I now have a G3,G4,G5 and G11 kitties, I don't think I will 'sire' any more as you pay for the privilege and it does eventually have an effect on your kitties speed which I am guessing will ultimately make it less desirable. You may start off with a 'swift' cat but if you 'sire' over and over the speed of your kitty will slow down to 'plodding' or even 'catatonic'. I am just going to hold and see what happens for now, I hope this info helps someone else.
download.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45