Trading is as much about learning YOURSELF as it is about learning the MARKET!

in #crytocurrency7 years ago

I was trying to learn about the market, ended up learning about myself

I got into Trading a little over 6 months ago and it's been a really thrilling ride so far. As I've aged I've found that new thrilling experiences are fewer and further between, or at least that was the pattern until I found trading. Trading has been a major emotional roller coaster, in a way that I've really enjoyed. When I started down this path of trading cryptocurrencies I had a very narrow focus. I wanted to learn how the market moved and how to predict it's movements so that I could profit off of those movements. With time however, I found this journey started to become more about learning myself.

You will learn to predict the market more accurately the longer you watch it

When you first start trading it seems like you can't make a right move. You buy, it goes down, you sell, it goes up. I think there's a reason for this, experienced traders understand their own psychology well, and they understand the psychology of other traders well, especially new ones. So your natural instincts tend to bite you when you first start trading. It is easy to make the mistake of buying high, getting scared, and selling low.

Bag holding cryptos is not so bad

I never fell victim to capitulation. I believe in cryptocurrencies, I believe in the ones I invest in, and if they lose value, I am ok holding the bag until they rise again. I learned that when it comes to putting my money into investments I believe in, I can weather the storm and HODL STRONG!

Greed is my enemy

I find Greed is my biggest weakness as a trader. When markets are rocketing up, it is very difficult for me to take sales, take profits. The euphoria of a chart going parabolic makes it very difficult to let go and take your profits. I think Bitcoin is going to be worth millions of USD in the future, while selling the rise from $1,200 to $3,000 seems like a great move, unless bitcoin hits $10,000 the next day, which is something I believe to be entirely possible.

It's all about having a game plan, and learning how you will react

You need to have a strategy that covers all possibilities. If you are expecting the market to do one thing and you plan for that in your strategy and it does it, great, but what if it doesn't? The market goes against us all at times, you need to have a plan in place for when that happens, because in those moments emotions run high and it is difficult to make good decisions. It is important to have a plan to fall back on.

Can you stick to the plan?

Your going to learn about your ability to stick to your guns. If you planned on buying at a certain price, will you still buy if the market is rapidly falling towards that price? If you pull your order, what happens? These are all things you will experience as a trader. It is an interesting look at how our emotions influence and effect our decision making process.

I work best when I stick to my plan

I find that what works best for me is when I stick to my plan. I find that abandoning my plan almost always leaves me feeling regret after words.




Image Credits: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7




Thanks for reading, like and upvote if you enjoyed this content and I will continue to make more!
Grady Brown

@rawpride

Bitcoin: 1GKkT6DPdS4BynmRwEfwJT1LLTe1datVZw
Ethereum: 0xdE4Ff36C94494a58a16Bd322b35d58a87d5C20b7
Litecoin: Lhu9p19VSMSDSzPUCaiXMoTvoGD9RuwSD6

Sort:  

Upvoted via Steem Chat from Emma

good to know @raw! Happy to follow you!

Appreciate it

Thanks @rawpride, this is very helpful. Especially that I am very very new to crypto trade. It is indeed an emotional rollercoaster ride. I was just usually staying positive lol. Hopefully, I can be a bit more technical as you guys someday.

Put time in every day, and you will!

I will try my best, thanks!

This post has received a 1.33 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @rawpride.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48