The jam geode was found!!!

in #crystal7 years ago

For quite a while a few of my crystals have been missing. When we had to bring a lot of the shop stock home after a move, the staff packed them in a mysterious place, known only to them for that minute of packing! We have found a larger store and my house has been cleared. The crystals were hiding in the fireplace.

My daughter nicknamed this crystal the jam crystal, as it looks like bread and jam! My mom actually found this crystal on a geode hunting trip in South Africa many years ago.

For the educational interest I included photos from every angle, even though the above picture sparks my trypophobia so badly I have to use the scroll button judiciously!!! Aaah, my dedication to Steemit.

@onetree

Sort:  

I really thought it was bread and jam at first , very interesting piece @onetree

I never thought of it like that, it was my daughter's description and it stuck!

Ha, the fireplace... Of course!

That a beautiful thing, I like the all round view do we can see exactly what it is like!

Thank you, and shared at a cost to my mental wellbeing! My trypophobia is very bad. (Fear of organic patterns.)

Is it an Amethyst geode??? We have had some this coloring - I guess it's a higher iron content in the crystal that's making it red

Yes it is amethyst and quartz. Interesting comment about the red colouring. I will have to look it up.

In the fireplace! Very beautiful amethyst geode :). @onetree, the quartz you mention in comments, are those the grayer ones to the left, and mb in the back? You have a rock shop in South Africa? That sounds awesome, hope it is :).

The quartz is white, but there is an overlap. I have a secondhand goods shop, but I collect crystals. :)

OK, I can see that the mixture, the white in there, @onetree. I'm looking at the 3rd & 5th pic down - great detail. I appreciate the full spectrum of pics of the geode, too. Thanks for facing your trypophobia to get that side, important to the specimen, which you know or wouldn't have done it right ;). Thanks for saying you have that, too! Wow, new to me and fascinating, scanned a few articles, glad people are paying attn (re of what they say), and not to dismiss your struggle at all, by being "fascinated". I get why you like having crystals around haha! Great chatting with you, @onetree, see ya!

Enjoy the vote and reward!

I took a second look, and see the grey section you are talking about. I never noticed it before, so great attention to detail. I'm going to take a closer look.

Superb. Nature give us beautiful things. :)

Yes, @azen, Nature does!

Yes, your name for it!

This one is quite big and heavy! It has more than one kind of stones inside, I think!
So, it has stopped playing hide and seek!

It looks like amethyst and clear quartz inside.It is fairly big, but surprisingly light, there is air in the middle!!! My lost crystals always turn up! (eventually)

It's beautiful! It's funny how long things can hide on us. :)

Yes! This one was missing for over a year!

Wow, this is so beautiful! And a really big one, too!

Wow... that's a beautiful piece! Glad it showed up again safely.

Thank you me too, my daughter was always wondering where it disappeared.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66