Did A Bitcoin Talk Today - And It Was Very Well Received! 😄

in #cryptotalk7 years ago

Today I did the Bitcoin/Blockchain/CryptoCurrency talk, that I have been teasing on here.
I gave a lecture for peers at my local university, and it seemed most liked it!

room1.jpg

And what a relief. I was a bit nervous about giving a lecture to my co-students, I must admit. I am studying what could most easily be described as design of interaction/digital media.

I promised to tell you all about what I did, how it went, and what went right and wrong - so here goes.

To begin with, I asked everyone, if they had heard about Bitcoin prior to me telling them about the lecture. Most had, but not all. Then I asked, how many felt they knew the basics, of how Bitcoin (or CryptoCurrency in general) works. Only a couple, felt they knew about that. Finally I asked how many had tried to use Bitcoin, and only one had a very brief experience.

I then knew firmly, that everyone was mostly on a beginner stage, and could proceed from there. I had prepared slides to show as well as a talk, but I wanted to be able to steer it a bit according to questions, and how well people seemed to "get it".

After those initial questions, I started stating very basically what Bitcoin is, and then I went on to a super brief history of its invention, leading into how mining works in simple terms.

Most people in the audience looked confused but interested at this stage. I went on to describe a few different Cryptos, including Ethereum, STEEM, BitShares and Dogecoin (just for fun to lighten the mood).

Lastly I talked quite a bit about the more philosophical or ideological aspects, if you cna call it such. I talked about the applications for the technology, and how a decentralized system, can be a win for everyone. Then I ended with a few current and future Blockchain/Crypto related projects, that I found interesting which might interest other students.

I of course ended up taking questions, which to me was the make or break moment. I knew in advance that the questions I got could reveal how well, the audience had understood my lecture.

To my surprise there were a lot of questions - some asking me to elaborate on future applications, while others didn't quite understand how to fit CryptoCurrency in with their understanding of "normal" fiat currency.

The only downside I noticed was that people were tired by the end. My lecture was after our "regular scheduled" lecture. Maybe I should have cut the question segment a bit shorter, because there were a lot of questions. However, I felt it was fair to give everyone a chance. The whole lecture plus questions took a bit more than an hour. I think it was good, that it didn't last longer, since people would have fallen asleep or cried from information overload.

What I have learned is that Blockchain tech is hard to "get", but once you "get it", you really see the whole (digital) world in a new and compelling way.

Overall, from the responses I got, everyone thought the lecture was great, one person even describing it as more captivating than other lecturers.

So I will definitely do this again. It was a bit of work, but the payout of seeing so many captivated people in the audience, and getting to talk about a thing I enjoy, was very much worth it. If you want to do a talk, on CryptoCurrency (or anything that interests you), just go ahead and do it.

Sort:  

I really like how you went about it. If they were a little tired, they were at least well informed. enjoy public speaking, maybe I will try something like this, but later when I understand it all at a deeper level myself.

Thanks for the nice comment. As a comment in general (not just to you) I'll say that you can always get better at something, but that doesn't mean you should wait to share your passion. There will always be those more informed and those less informed, so it's all about just going ahead and doing what you love.

sometimes it hard to grasp bitcoin tech and block chain especially if you are not a techie, but this i know this is the future of money as we know it, sometime we fail to mention that their are more than one crypto and people think the only crypto is bitcoin. great work teaching people about bit coin and blockchain

Good work @rawbinhutt Keep on sharing the knowledge on bitcoins and cryptocurrencies. It will definitely help a lot of people. I remember a friend introducing me to bitcoins early this year and I invested in some. I must say I'm very grateful to having gotten that information.

Next time you may also introduce steemit to your peers.

I already did talk about STEEM (and so also Steemit), as I wrote above :P

And thanks, good to hear learning helped you too!

Are you considering uploading maybe a video of your presentation. I am sure tons of people would find it helpful :)

I would have done that, unfortunately it was in Danish and not recorded on video. Maybe in the future, I'll do a recorded talk in English.

very informative post and help us to find out everything, this blog is more profitable, please follow me

Amazing post and narrative.
Thanks for sharing such great post with us!

Nice read! For anyone in Aus/NZ who might want to get into the bitcoin market right now, here is a summary of the best exchanges to get Bitcoin: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@browncow/bitcoin-acquisition-guide-australia-and-new-zealand-focused-aud-nzd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31