You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OMG Steem Price is Falling WTF?!?! - Why Steem is Probably Okay and How You Can Help It

in #cryptoschool8 years ago

Thanks for this reminder of how Steem inflation works. It's definitely good to periodically refresh everyone's knowledge of the whitepaper, as I think many people don't bother to read it or tend to forget the details over time.

I personally am not at all worried about the Steem price and am enjoying the opportunity to top up my Steem Power at low prices. But I think some people may be concerned because the price has been dropping faster than the Steem Power "interest" we get makes up for it. In an ideal market, the price decline would exactly match the inflation rate, but clearly that hasn't been the case.

You say that price decline is slowing. I'm not so sure, though, seems to me it's been accelerating in percentage terms. Remember that a 25% drop from a low price will be a lower number in absolute terms than a 25% drop from a high price. So it seems as if the price curve is evening out, but that's only true if you ignore the percentages and focus on absolute price differences. I have buy orders staggered 25% apart throughout the order book on Poloniex. It used to be these orders would execute once a week, or once every couple weeks. But lately it seems like they've been getting hit only a few days apart.

I haven't done any objective number crunching to back this up, but my gut is telling me we haven't found the bottom of this downtrend yet. And I'm glad we haven't. I want more time to increase my Steem Power stash as much as possible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31