Cryptocurrency mining - Part 1 - Introduction & What you should know before you start spending monies on your mining rig

in #cryptomining7 years ago (edited)

Hey cryptofanatics :)

On this blog, I would like to help crypto-mining-beginners out with their first mining rig and all the follow-up things you need to know and considering, if you want to open the doors to the crypto-mining world :)

Before I would start, I would tell you something about myself. I'm working in a gaming industry (yes, my profession is very close to GPUs and gaming computers and all technologies related). I'm currently running AMD (6x 470 4GB @160MH/s) and Nvidia rigs (6x 1070 and 2-5x 1060 4GB) on Windows. And I do have experiences with ETH, ZEC and some dual-mining. I would consider myself as a super experienced miner (I know some of you are professional miners ;) ), but I believe I can help the beginners as I was one not a long time ago.



![18491497_224679568034756_6444714365128997806_o.jpg](

In this part, I would like to describe what you should know and have before you want to dive into mining.

  • basic knowledge about computers, how to build one and how to install Windows
  • decide why you want to start mining (for fun, experiences, bit of profit, hardcore investment :) )
  • to have a spot/ room where the noisy and heat producing rig can ran ideally 24/7
  • having cheap electricity as much as possible :)

In the next part, I would like to talk about the mining hardware and how to choose the proved components, how to estimated your earnings and what to expect.
Please leave me some feedback, if you liked this article.


Sort:  

Tell some of the pitfalls also things to avoid I know some of the basics evade people when there addicted to the idea of mining coin. most people start off with the old pc they have laying around the office.

I will do a small project with 1060 cards on decommissioned PC (from office where is it lying around :) Optiplex 360). Hopefully this weekend.

Great start to the article. We need to hear more!!!!!

thanks for the support! there is plenty of content coming! stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85