Cryptocurrency mining - not alwasy an easy job aka ALWAYS use reliable parts for your mining rigs

in #cryptomining7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, I would like to share with you how my "used parts mining experiment" ended up.

I would like to stress here, that the PSU and the MB were considered as functional, but potentially faulty parts which I've got for free. The result is obvious! Note, that this 750W PSU (LEPA) was running only 2x 1060 3GB cards.

18880246_235721836930529_4825398124574396365_o.jpg
18920793_235721840263862_5772122317852702746_o.jpg

Please always use a new parts, or at least parts which you are sure they are fully functional. The consequences might be very bad, if your "mining cave" will catch in fire, burn your parts, or cause any downtime. The PSU you should be using should have Surge Protection enabled, this awesome feature might save you a lots of troubles.

Sort:  

For the little man its nearly IMPOSSIBLE to make any money out of it. Thats reality.

It all depends from which end you would catch it. Back in 2009/10, one BTC was worth few cents and you could mine it with your CPU :)

Yeah...but now? I think its too late for mining. Back in 2009 (like you said) yeah...golden days :D

nah, its not 2 late. Still very-very profitable. And exactly as my example. You can keep (e.g. 50%) of the mined tokens for few years, the value might increase rapidly!
But it depends on the scale you want to mine at and the expected investment/ profit.

Yeah, maybe you take a lot of cash in the hand, you can make money..but with only a little investment? I'm not sure. But maybe i will try it out. I think cloud mining is the only option...because power is really expensive here in germany.

with the current ETH/ ZEC prices its still profitable. there are plenty of miners in germany :)
I wouldnt recommend cloud-mining (Yes, I do have my own experiences). It might be profitable (Genesis mining BTC plan) after one year, or sooner if BTC price will keep rising.
But instead of buying the hashing power, I would just simply buy the currency and keep it. You can buy and keep with whatever amount of $$$ you want to invest into this project.

Its a good idea, indeed. I think about it, but thanks!
For now i look into this steem thing here. I dont kniow what to think about it, but its... funny so far.

Great advice. Sometimes getting cheaps goods ends up being extremely expensive.

Good luck with your project!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82