Cryptokitty figurine raffle draw

in #cryptokitties6 years ago (edited)


Thank you to everybody who took part in my little contest last week. The response was greater than I expected. We quickly reached my minimum and with help of massive spike in Steem price, almost reached the first stretch goal with 72.53 including curation. That translated to 55.47 to the author and 17.18 went to my curators. It gave me 27.733 SBD and 5.020 Steem Power. I changed SBD to Steem and powered my account with 28.8 I know the exchange rate is not great at the moment, but who knows what it will be tomorrow. My post was seen by a record number of 357 people and resteemed by 28 people what introduced my work to many new people. Big thank you to all of you!

RESULTS

I put together the list of all participants in a spreadsheet with all your vote value and 28 resteems with all their followers numbers. It gave me 219 entries in total. As I stated in the rules of my previous post, you get one ticket per each 1000 followers if you resteemed and 1 ticket per 1usd of your upvote so some names appear multiple times on the list.

I was thinking how to make the draw so it is transparent and you can be sure it is fair.
I put all the names on the list with numbers attached from 1 to 219 in password protected PDF
The list is under this file, please download it to hold me accountable. You can later confirm that the order was not changed.

https://www.cubetransfer.com/download.php?file=CubeTransfer-5a6b9736bb6fa.zip

Please one of you who reads it, send me a randomly generated number in a range 1-219 by random.org to my wallet in a message so it is there and can't be changed.

Ok, we have the winning number. It was generated by blockchain and the process is explained in the comments below by @demotruk. The winning number is 191

and the WINNER IS : @pharesim

and the password to PDF list with all tickets is : k17281

If you liked this contest and would like to see more raffles like this, leave me the comment. What would you want to see next? Do you want another kitty? If yes, show me the design which is your favorite.

Sort:  

A much better way is to take the hash of a future Bitcoin block, then run it by Mod 219 to select the winner. That's provably fair. Impossible to cheat as long as the block is in the future.

HEHE, It simple for you, but I have no idea what it means :) I am simple sculptor :)

Ok, block 506257 is now in.

https://tradeblock.com/bitcoin/block/506257

Hash is 0000000000000000006a668f36aa23756e00b1c25fe7ec7d765a7c482c194cd2

You can convert that hexadecimal number to decimal here:

https://www.mobilefish.com/services/big_number/big_number.php

The result is:

10191154995804353740242253324023037633493343521943932114

https://defuse.ca/big-number-calculator.htm

You can calculate the mod 219 of that here (by putting % 219 after the number)

https://defuse.ca/big-number-calculator.htm

191 is the provably fairly selected output.

WOW! so much math! :) would you send it to me in wallet so I can't delete or modify it Please?? Everybody now can see and analise the whole process. Thank you!

There's no need. If you know how to analyse the blockchain, it doesn't matter if it is transfers or comments. They can check the history of my comments on steemd.com/@demotruk and see that it is not edited.

Also, I would do it anyway but I have no liquid money right now xD

I'll demonstrate how it's done. I select Hash(Bitcoin Block 506257) Mod 219 as the winning number.

You can see that block is in the future because it hasn't shown up yet here: https://tradeblock.com/bitcoin

Now I wait for the block...

Still don't understand :( I am sorry I am not IT guy :) If it generated the number somewhere there, can you send it to my wallet so it is the winner ? :)

Still waiting LOL, adds suspense to the whole thing :-P

oh man, you had to choose the slowest blockchain in the world ???? :) It will leave me enough time to finish one kitty for everybody ;)

Some of the time was me using the calculators and capturing screenshots. The result is in, 191

hehe. 20 viewers is already biting their nails :) I hear dramatic music in my head.... or maybe its my brain trying to understand the funny animations on the website you sent :)

Aww no luck this time! But I would love to enter another raffle! :D

Ok, there will be more, it was exciting 2 weeks for me :) . Thanks for taking part in this one.

This is pretty complicated. I downloaded the PDF, can't open it because I don't know the password, and still don't wrote understand what's supposed to be done.

Guess I'll just sit back and see if I win?

I will post password when somebody random who also doesn't know the password to the list, provide number. Or even better, our Dublin based witness @demotruk ( BTW if you didn't yet, you should vote for him) provide us with random number generated by Bitcoin Block :) What is still black magic for me :)

Wow it is adorable! Can I buy these anywhere? I want one!!!

Thank you. You just missed the chance to own this one,check the previous post for details. I may do another raffle with other design or you can commission me to make you the one you want. I take Steem as a form of payment :)

Hmm... talk to me on Discord if you can. I might just order me one. Or a figurine of my avatar. Or both.

Cool, we can discuss that later. I must pack this kitty and have it ready for shipping when I manage to contact the winner.

Congratulations to the winner.
The cat is very cool.

Congrats for a successful contest! I'm really glad to see you getting some of the recognition you deserve :)

Thank you, it was great week and it helped a lot to be seen by more people. Thank you for your help. i will come back to creating and writing after my short holidays.

Great work on the figurine! The winner is probably stoked :)

Still in shipping, waiting for the reaction :)

ahhhhhhhh!
I missed this post >.<
Grats to the winner !
Hope to see more figurines in the future @mitchhunter

Yes, there will be more, I enjoyed the whole week watching the progress and reactions of people who took part in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10