Hello Steemit

in #cryptography7 years ago (edited)

I've been hearing about this place for a while, but I wasn't able to make it over till now. And after taking a look around, I'm glad I did. 

I'm Paul Rosenberg, the author of the Free-Man's Perspective newsletter, as well as A Lodging of Wayfaring Men, Production Versus Plunder, The Breaking Dawn, and others. I also manage the Cryptohippie VPN

I'll be posting my weekly newsletter articles here. (We produce a monthly subscription letter that pays the bills.) These posts will cover a fairly wide range of subjects. 

I have a strong interest in cryptography and with things Cypherpunk, but also in history, philosophy and even physics. The one thing I generally avoid is politics. Honestly, I find politics barbaric and I don't want to waste my time in that kind of tar pit. 

My real interest is humanity moving forward. I've been involved with these subjects (and associated projects) for a long time, and I'm fully convinced that we are far more than we've thought we were. Humans are inherently magnificent creatures (a small percentage of sociopaths notwithstanding) and those of us on Earth at the present time have a pressing need to get past the moribund and putrefied systems of the past. I want to build better things and leave the relics of our past behind. 

I've used lines like these a time or two: 

What if you could be more than you ever thought you could be... be better than you ever thought you could be... would you do it? 

It's easy to say “yes” to these questions, but holding to it in the real world involves more opposition than most people are willing to face. They wouldn't stick with it for very long. 

Still, we really can be more than we thought we could be, and bearing some angry words, or even losing a job, is a small price to pay for it. 

So, these are the things I've been trying to do, and it seems there are people here at Steemit pursuing more or less the same things.

And so, I'll do my best to contribute. 


Sort:  

It's great to see you here!

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome Friend, Following You.

Welcome to steemit...you should do another introduction and tag it under introduceyourself, anyhow... cheers!

Ah well... :)

Welcome to steemit @allforprivacy. Though I do not know if steemit is the best means to achieve privacy, since everything you do and say is available for all to see forever on the block chain.

Agreed. This is part of my public side. For private things I use strong crypto plus anonymity tech.

Well very good then, I wish you success here.

Welcome To Steemit, I'm @richq11 aka Rich Quitliano, hack writer and half ass economist! Upvoted & followed. Your newsletter sounds interesting.

Welcome to steemit Free-man! I've been following your work for a couple of years now and I am a fan. Glad to have you here.

Welcome aboard. Following.
What are your thoughts on seasteading?

I've always liked the concept. Haven't stayed current with the practicalities.

I prefer landsteading. Islands are too restrictive. A large floating city would be even worse. :(

I think you'll find a like-minded audience here.

Paul!

Glad to see you got this posted.... Also that quite a few folk have now "spotted" you here, begun following you, and up voting! :D

And yes, I'll echo @arcaneinfo's suggestion that you do a "follow-up" post sometime before long and use #introduceyourself as the first tag... That will give more folk who might like the opportunity to follow you a chance to do so! ;)

Once more, welcome to Steemit... so glad you've gotten on board! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75