You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bringing Yellow Back - Why I'm Ditching Racially Specific Emojis

in #cryptogeemusings5 years ago

I came to realize a few years ago how we often refer to 'skin tone' and imply that being a salmon-like pinkish colour. For example, foundation for a woman's skin is in the lighter colour range called 'skin tone' and in the darker colour range 'dark brown' - as if the latter isn't 'skin tone'.

Just a short introduction as there's so much more to it, to explain why when I saw 'skin toned' smileys I was initially happy: I was sure this was a good thing! Finally people with non-light skin tones could express themselves in their own skin colour! Which was needed right? The era where 'skin tone' was only 'light' was over... I thought. And indeed, I saw some of my colleagues sending thumbs up in a dark brown shade.

Then I started to think if I wanted to change my emoticon colour. The first time I thought I'd do this was when my black colleague send me the darkest available thumbs up and I felt hesitant using the white one - suddenly I felt super aware of my skin colour, and it didn't feel right to sort of emphasize I had that white skin colour against his dark one. (Especially since we've talked a lot about how his skin colour has played a huge (not positive) role in his life.)

I remember I hovered over the thumbs up I wanted to send back, trying to think which shade of light skin was 'mine', and in the end I felt so uncomfortable with picking those 'white' smileys I simply picked the standard, neutral, yellow one.

And I haven't changed that since.

Interesting topic to say the least. It's one of those things where you know 'they meant well' but the effect is the opposite. I can only imagine how happy certain groups of people are they can pick that white-skinned emoji...

Sort:  

I totally get it! Especially you hovering over the button, I was the same, but I gave in and went for the racially specific one.

I think like you say, they 'meant well', perhaps because the yellow in the Simpsons, is actually meant to be white, otherwise everyone would be yellow.

However our emotions don't need colour, they are universal, so until something better comes along, let's stick to yellow :-) 😜💪🤓😁

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86