You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Metal Rain: Chapter 2 - Nanostorm

Oh no, the poor probe!

Reminds me of the scene at the beginning of "You Only Live Twice" where the Russian spacecraft gets gobbled up by Spectre's bigger spacecraft.

What I realise is so alien about the probe is it's sexlessness, consciousness without gender. I think that's why it's such a fascinating read, trying to get inside the head of something that isn't familar, to which we can't assign familiar tropes of thinking.

It's also weird how much we identify with the probe. It's quite innocent and unspoiled, even though we suspect it will break bad at any moment.

You could end the story there, a sort of "Tales of the Unexpected" twist ending. I'd prefer it if you didn't, as the story feels it's leading somewhere deeper.

Your Hampstead Heath one-man-and-his-dog musings paid off beautifully! :)

Sort:  

What I realise is so alien about the probe is it's sexlessness, consciousness without gender.

I'm glad you've noticed that, it is very deliberate and quite difficult to carry on; I'm constantly having to check that I haven't slipped a 'he' in there :-).

You could end the story there, a sort of "Tales of the Unexpected" twist ending. I'd prefer it if you didn't, as the story feels it's leading somewhere deeper.

I wrote chapter 3 at the same time to keep this part coherent; I'm just off to edit it now! :-)

Your Hampstead Heath one-man-and-his-dog musings paid off beautifully! :)

Indeed, the dog is going to be the fittest K9 in all of England by the time this has finished; possibly the world! :-D

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33