You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having Babies - The Secret Life Of An AI

in #cryptogee-musings6 years ago (edited)

@cryptogee,

My friend, you scare me.

You want to sanctity the life of sentient AI beings? Yikes. That strikes me as being analogous to banning antibiotics ... because the bugs have a right to live too! Some things in life come down to It's Us or Them. To my mind, both Typhoid and strong-AI fit the bill.

Readers: If you're curious, Cryptogee and I have had some great exchanges on this subject over the past few days. I would recommend reading them first. Take a look in the comments section (obviously read the posts first) of:

https://steemit.com/cryptogee-musings/@cryptogee/becoming-ai-the-human-singularity

https://steemit.com/cryptogee-musings/@cryptogee/parents-to-the-gods-creating-a-digital-species

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/so-said-they-of-looms-poem-i-m-with-elon-musk-ai-has-the-potential-to-wreak-havoc

Irrespective of your views on the advisability of creating machines that can think, here's an interesting point to ponder: Could it be that, irrespective of computing power, sentience simply isn't possible in a non-biological entity?

(This comment was becoming so ridiculously long that I decided to make a post on my feed instead. I'll create a link on that post to this one, so that people reading my article will first read this one. I really think it adds a lot to read all the posts, and their respective comments, in the order I suggested.)

@old-guy-photos & @c0ff33a, I thought guys might be interested in this article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86