You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Give Me Everytime Every Time!

in #cryptogee-musings7 years ago (edited)

Ha! Reading your list I see a difference.

Those words mean different things. I don't know the grammatically correct terms but it's like the difference between verbs and nouns.

Everyday for example. I use my toothbrush every day is different from it was an everyday sort of toothbrush. I don't know what the first use is but the second, being a description, is probably an adjective.

Everything. Every thing is beautiful refers to a collection of single things. I didn't know what to bring so I brought everything seems to imply all, possibly a collective noun.

I didn't even know that there was such a word as everywoman so I'm probably just talking out of my ass but given the comment competition you have running I thought it was worth a punt! 😁 😁 😁 😁

Sort:  

Ha! Well yes, in some instances they do mean different things, your first example was excellent, indeed everyday is used in different ways.

However everything is beautiful is just as grammatically correct as every thing is beautiful, perhaps the second way is a more antiquated way of saying it. However every time, is always everytime, unlike over time and overtime.

PS I didn't know about everywoman, and to be honest, I'm not sure it's Oxford approved, the word processing program I use Draft, does not give me a squiggly line when set to UK English, Chrome however does!

Cg

My vote is for Chrome then. Everywoman seems just plain weird. I suspect it's on account of the sexual equality police. Since Everyman is accepted we now have to also have everywoman. I like how Steemit gives them all a squiggly line. Mind you it also give itself a squiggly so maybe it's not the best judge!

This post might even generate some new meanings of it's own. I did a squiggly comes to mind! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70