ICO craze!! Should the product really come through ICO?

DISCLAIMER: Guys, this is just my thoughts. I am not a financial advisor or an Expert. I am here to brainstorm and see what others feel. This post in general is gonna talk about what I am seeing out there in the world of ICO with huge demand/craze. I tried my best not to call out any coin names, not to offend any big fan following some of the coins have.

"this year is gonna be a year of Altcoin"

If you have been following cryptocurrency market and if you have not heard of this term, may be you are not reading the recent blogs :)

Yes I am convinced this year is going to be big for Altcoins. But everyday we have new ICO's coming up with new coins and tokens.

Which Altcoin is gonna make big this year?? isn't that the next question we all have. I am sure you must have seen tonnes of videos, blogs predicting and the owners claiming they are gonna go big. Honestly, I do not think it is going to be that easy to predict. While it is thoughtful to do the best research we can, based on the information that we can gather. That would be very much applicable for ICO as well.

But do we even have enough information available in ICO for some of those? I think atleast more than 30% of them do not have those info. I believe we should just ignore those ICO's to be a wise and safe investor.

Now from the remaining they have the information you want to see, they have Github, MVP, Strong team. But do they really have strong business case? are they going to solve a problem that is going to make huge difference, which could lead to a success, in turn the coin value going up because their customers do business using their coin/token?

Seriously so many of them claim that they are gonna make something better than the current product that is available today. Which i think is gonna be easy for the existing product to adopt and fix the issue or do better than new product is claiming. Are we not seeing that with Mobile phones and their OS, every release try beating the competition in market?

the next thought that comes to my mind is, if their product is so good and they want to go big, why they are not proposing it to some big investors? have they already turned them down? if they have a working product and if it has future I am sure no investing company is going to let them walk out of the door. Then Why ICO? Just think about it, so much of money they sped on online advertising in social platforms et., to attract investors for their ICO. Just doesn't feel right, they need to get their advertising cost back as well and we pay them in well established coins like BTC, ETH.,

I am very concerned that ICO is a buzz word and everyone is jumping in with the money. I have been going into lot of ICO related Telegram chat and have seen people saying they took Mortgage to invest in an ICO. That sounds how crazy it has become. I feel the word ICO is just pulling in people so easily and easy to get money from them. I have seen youtubers reminding about dotcom bubble.,

To conclude, I am not trying to say that every ICO offering is a scam or does not have future. I really feel asking fundamental questions like why they came for ICO? is it because no one is there to regulate? China banned investing in ICO. US says it is good for accredited investors as they can measure the risk and invest. If the product is so good they can legally try IPO. I understand ICO gives them advantage of reaching out to the entire world as a marked beyond just few countries. Some of the products are really good and fascinating, one of the product that I read about during ICO search was really great and awesome. But when I think about Privacy with that product it is alarming, that product may not even kick off in many countries. They say that they can use their product and app for surveilance, it can identify every person and it can even alert you when they find them. Some of the products does not even really need blockchain or even smart contract, but they just wanna do an ICO do get people invest.

I really do hope that people identify right project and provide support in ICO, once we show the products does not have worth is not able to raise money the market will regulate itself. I wish all the investors best from their ICO investments. Love Blockchain. Please do share your thoughts.

**Be safe out there in telegram chats/emails, lot of scammers imposing like the admins of the project will approach you saying they can send you coins for better price., blah blah.,

Sort:  

99.5% of the ICO tokens I have researched are way to risky for me, but I like that they are available.
People like to gamble, and I would not tell anyone that they can't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47