Cryptocurrency Exchange : LocalBitcoins.com : Real or Scam?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

images (2).png

LocalBitcoins.com is a cryptocurrency exchange which facilitates Peer-to-Peer (P2P) Bitcoin sales by allowing users to list their own buy/sell advertisements. It makes it very easy to run your own bitcoin-cash exchange. It also allows online transactions and offers escrow and other security services, as well as a reputation system for buyers/sellers.

The exchange platform boasts exchangers from 142 countries and 1733 cities.

With 2/5 star user rating out of 52 reviews on BitTrust!, it's obvious that customers are not satisfied with its services.

A user by the name nervouslight on February 23, 2018 gave the Exchange a 1-star rating and complained bitterly about their services. Read what the user to to say below:

IMG_20180303_233552_323.JPG

Not one issue in a year. I'm a pro-trader. I've sold over 1000 bitcoins on the site. A couple weeks ago I send 6 BTC over to sell. I find my ads are nowhere to be found. So I try to withdraw and get an error.
They froze my account because it was associated with another account that apparently scammed some people. They tell me that the account verified their ID as me. Well if their policy is not to have the user hold the ID in their hand while taking a photo with the date and "for localbitcoins" written on it like the exchanges do then they're complicit in identity theft.
I can't post URL's but look up "nervouslight" and "approved calls" on LBC. Apparently, I am approved calls.
Also look up nervouslight11 on the LBC reddit thread to learn more.
Anyway, I could write a book. I also contacted the owner on LinkedIn and all he was concerned about were my threats.
Jeremias Kangas
Hi, I'm sorry for the issue. With all our customer cases we follow the same process, and unfortunately the support is having a big queue right now. I'm not involved in the support processes of the site, and it doesn't really make sense for me to intervene, and even less if there are threats.
Their responses sound like they were written by a fishing scammer. Not one person with a brain looks at your case.
I now consider LBC the most dangerous exchange to have your Bitcoin on.

Another user also said:

Today is 02/18/2018, they've been holding my btc since december 2017. They accused me of having another account and needing to resolve some issue with that, which is not true. I'm new to Bitcoin and they didn't even told me what's wrong with this other account, they just accused me. If I'm not mistaken, they're not legally allowed to withhold my funds against my will and for that they will pay accordingly.
I should say that I was 100% positive and never had an issue before this.

Another user who seemed to be a good customer also complained of LocalBitcoins.com stating that it used to be a good service and currently do not care about their customers as they've become well established.

Read what he had to say below:

Localbitcoins used to be a good service. They are awful now. Their support clearly states that they will not be able to get back to you for a minimum of 7 business days. Even when people are scammed or unfairly put on forced holidays, they will freeze a users coins without any reason or telling you and then make you send a support ticket and make you wait 7 days.
This is for anyone. They allow people to leave bad unfair feedback and dont do anything about it as well.
They do not care for their customers as they have become well established.

Although some customers claim to be satisfied with the services of LocalBitcoins.com, over 90% of its customers with their online reviews states otherwise with the notion that either LocalBitcoins is a scam or they are not ready for serious business.

Have you used LocalBitcoins before? Let's hear from you. Is LocalBitcoins Real or Scam?

Sort:  

Congratulations @zuby! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @zuby! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46