My biggest nightmare in crypto world - dealing with exchanges

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I think it was around 2017 summer time, when there was also altcoin summer, the market was booming fast.
$XVG had a great jump back in those days, not compared to these days where we are coming to end of 2017 and witnessed around +800% uptrend but still :), I had decided to realize some profit to take back my initial investment.

Having biggest share dedicated to $XVG in my bags, my intention was to put around a sell order around 10% higher of the existing market price in Bittrex.
It was after work hours, I remember my little daughter pulling my shirts off and screaming to play when I'm preparing to sell the big chunk of my portfolio. But as you guess, it had to be done before child-games :)
Eventually, I set the limit sell price, confirmed the order quickly to /care for my child and it was exactly that second I felt the heat rising above my head for confirming a price 10 times less than the actual market price.

With the heat of the moment, I said to my wife "I'm sorry, I failed at crypto" :)
Embracing the disgrace and huge disappointment, I checked my wallet and I saw that the actual market price was used to fill the order. It was like hell and heaven in minutes. This is how I actually learnt decent exchanges have price protection to fill the order with market price even your sell order is way below market price (yes, you can say "for idiots" like myself ).
Probably, one of the biggest reliefs in my life, I don't think I will ever forget any part of that memory of 5-10 minutes, everything is still very vivid.

Long story short:

  • Never perform any trading operation when you are distracted
  • Make sure your exchange has price protection
  • Always check whether you are withdrawing/depositing the right wallet (sometimes our brain plays little games with 1 letter, it can be especially confusing when the short designation of currencies differ from one exchange to another, like XBT and BTC being the same thing, or BCC and BCH confusion due to different coins)
  • Never store your crypto-currencies in an exchange (that's the other worst case scenario where you may see yourself with nothing in the end)
  • Last but not least, care family first, crypto will always be there for you :)

Talking about exchanges, there is one shining star in my follow-up list that I am very optimistic about.
It is Next Exchange and I have personally invested in their ICOs. Already more than 60% of their tokens are sold (worth millions). The beauty of Next Exchange is that they will not only work as a platform for cryptocurrency exchange but also as a stock exchange which makes them the "first hybrid exchange". There will also be a dividend payout every 3 months for people with more than 100 NEXT tokens. Considering the amount of people raining in to crypto world everyday, I see this project as an absolute gem.
You can also take part of this easily by following the link I provided above.

If you like this article, please feel free to upvote, re-steem and comment below

PS. I'm still a proud XVG holder, don't get the impression that I sold out everything :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63887.77
ETH 3417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56