Poloniex is crashing and not ready for such high volumes or how I became a bagholder of Stellar

Poloniex is the main exchange platform for altcoins, but it is apparently way too weak to handle volumes of the last couple of days. On top of that, Polo is not prepared to fight DDoS attacks whatsoever. It crashed like 3-4 times in 2 days. That's brutal.

Is Bittrex any better? I am considering leaving Polo for good until it fixes those problems.

My Stellar story:

Huge dip.png

1 - I smelled money

I bought myself into STR just before the pump for 0.45 BTC. I knew that the end was near, but I figured I would go for it on a short run to make some fast profits.

2- To the m00n

I won't lie, I was happy to see the price skyrocketing faster than my wildest dreams. I wanted to sell it at 4.3k first, but it just kept going. In 10 seconds it was 4.5k already. I was like "should I sell?" but the price kept growing. I was already ordering myself a lambo on Ebay when I pressed "sell" at 4.8k.

3- The ball dropped. Polo crashed. Me too.

My order was not placed... obviously. That was a freaking awkward moment to see the system crashing right before my order. I was 3 seconds too late... And my money was gone. Anger and frustration took over.

This one minute was a roller coaster to me. The only problem that Polo had problems with the carousel, so I crashed right into a freaking wall without any chances to save myself.

4- Reality hit hard

Every bubble explodes. Sadly, STR exploded right into my face. I had to settle for 0.2 BTC loss instead of 0.12 BTC profit. What can I say? Classic DDoS + dump scheme destroyed me.

It is funny now but I must say that it was a very hard hit to me. It was sad to lose money because of the stupid system.

Trading tip:

Take everything into consideration and don't be FOMO. Believe me, it sucks to be a bagholder.

Also, let me know what is the best alts exchange platform? Polo is def the most popular, but maybe there is something better? I just don't like the idea of losing $500 just because of some stupid crashes.

Sort:  

Bittrex has worked great all week for me, no issues.

Yeah, even though I like Polo's interface better, I think Bittrex will have to do for a while.

Agreed, poloniex interface is way better. Ironically, I ended up on bittrex because when I tried to sign up on poloniex last year there was an issue and I didn't want to wait. I will take functionality over aesthetics all day!

Poloniex saved you from itself :D

I use Bittrex and Poloniex. I've never had any problems with Bittrex, but then again I don't trade very heavy.

Yeah, I heard Bittrex is better from security pow. However, I really enjoy Polo apart from the lags. The system is easy to use and quite convenient. Sadly, I'll have to leave it anyway if they are not fixing their problems.

You will get it back with this post. That's why we have Steemit ;)

Trade -> Lose money -> bitch about it on Steemit -> get paid for it -> repeat.
I already made $5 back. Few more hundreds to go!

I lost 200$ in this scheme too, so waiting now when it will cost 0,00003. hopefully by the weekend, when bitcoin will drop

I feel you... It really sucks. I would love to see price dropping as well before the next pump.

And Poloniex is having troubles again...

It lags more than it works... That's not cool at all. Even this happened: http://www.poloniexlawsuit.com/

Shit!!!....i still got some steem on Polo,lemme got get rid of them if Polo is crumbling...Thanks for the SOS message mate!

You are welcome! Funds are pretty safe IMO (you never know with all the stuff happening, tho), it's just that the system lags more than it works and it's impossible to trade properly. If you are not trading, you should def store your crypto somewhere else.

If enough people complain they will listen. And they better listen since volume will only increase this summer.

When an exchange has problems like this, they should probably freeze trading until they fix/upgrade their servers and/or improve their security. It's really inexcusable to have this repeatedly happen.

If you can't handle the volume, it's time for an upgrade. Stop being stingy, @poloniex. You're making plenty of money on fees to cover the costs.

yeah, I agree. Sadly, there's too much money flowing in. Polo won't want to freeze trading (they could invest in system tho). But this http://www.poloniexlawsuit.com/ still made my day. Quite funny IMO.
@poloniex what's up with the lag? It crashed 4 times today already.

Holy shit... I feel sorry for you @samether. But then again, things like that happens while trading. Long-run profit is what matters.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.06 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62820.16
ETH 2438.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69