A discussion with my friends about cryptocurrency and Steem(it) made me realize that we are still far from going viral...

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I just had a discussion with my friends about cryptocurrency and Steem. Here are some quick thoughts:

  • After most of my friends said, "Mining what? How can you mine with computers? You have to mine with a pickaxe," I knew that people are still far from knowing/wanting to know anything about the crypto world. office.jpg

  • Even the idea that they can get money for writing things they usually write on Facebook didn't help. My friends still laughed, not even trying to understand how it works.

  • More laughing.

  • I was worried already their health as laughing couldn't stop.

  • "Why are people proud of not understanding how things work?" I thought to myself and said something like, "Well, everyone was saying the same stuff about the internet 20 years ago."

  • I tried to explain that it is actually possible to cash out all the cryptocurrency and get some dollars/euros. I think I got their attention for a second or two but lost it again after I tried to explain basics of mining (I don't know more than basics myself).

  • I thought, "The world is far from going all-in on cryptocurrency just yet," as my friends were laughing from unreal currency.

  • Once again, I told how cool is Steemit and how can it bring some extra money. They seemed interested enough to listen, but not interested enough to make an effort.

  • That's when I understood that the majority of people want things served on a golden plate. Heck, they want that someone would put food in their mouth, chew that food, and even swallow it.

  • Sadly, Steemit (and crypto in general) is at the stage when we are still growing our food. And believe me, farming is not for everyone.

  • So, while my friends were still laughing, I was like "I know it's funny. It'll be even funnier when we will have to harvest all the cryptofood."

  • I just hope that Steemit is seeded in an arable land because I am starving.

  • Also, the more food we all produce, the more people will want to try growing cryptofood.

  • Even the lazy ones, who are not into anything new.

  • Also, enjoy the privilege to be one of the first people to be on the crypto ship. It will either sink like Titanic or swim to the moon. Both possibilities are legendary!


Or we can just make Kim Kardashian add some NSFW photos on Steemit and fly to the moon today.

Funny times!

akiniai.JPG

Sort:  

Man, wish I could say your feedback surprised me. However, in the end many people have a sheep mentality. They just want to be herded around..lol.

What did you say about my friends? haha
But seriously, most of the people are afraid to try new things as they are used to already tested patterns, which lead nowhere but are unbelievably comfortable. I guess it's just how it works and we cannot be mad about it. After all, we get the bigger part of the pie before masses come. I am just sad that I was not in crypto from 2010... haha

We are very far from our goal but we will reach there, Perservance is priceless my friend. We just have to persist here and reap the sweet fruits in future. @writingamigo

Oh yeah, hopefully! And even if this project fails for some reason, the ones who search will always find something new and promising to invest their time at. I mean, following the trend only after it establishes is usually too late...
So I am quite positive about both Steem(it) and crypto in general. I am happy to be invested in it no matter what

Yeah, it is good you have that much positive attitude, keep It up.

Hello @writingamigo

Your post contains everything thing that has been going through my mind for the past few days. Like you i have been trying to convince my friends about the potentials of steemit with little success , the ones who managed to sign up are contributing to the list of someone's dead followers.

What you said is very true, people want things on the platter of gold. And to think that they would have learnt their lesson with what happened with bitcoin, history always repeat's itself. People only pay attention to things when it is now trending and hard to break even.

Nice post, followed you, i am a Finance Undergraduate myself.

I completely agree with you! I remember being skeptic about Steemit as well but it took me a few days to fall in love with it.
I really want to believe that we will see one of the alt coins, Steem hopefully, reaching BTC's level. That would be amazing. I mean, as a finance person you must understand how cool is to have som... a lot of money.
Followed you as well, btw! :) It's always nice meeting some new people!

Great post @writtingamigo! I agree, most people close their minds to crypto, and I have introduced Steemit to some friends but they think they will make huge profits out of amateur posts, lol.

thanks @danilamarilu! We still need those people to open their minds to crypto in order for prices to go up! Maybe those posts are only amateur to you? And also, people don't need more than amateur these days IMO. The whole internet is amateur :D

I agree, but I didn't mean it in an offensive way though!
Cheers @writingamigo

Don't tell them how much crypto you have, otherwise they'll be hounding you for freebies once it really rockets up. Or, they'll tease you no end if it doesn't happen!

True that @cognoscere! People just cannot be happy about others, can they? :D It is a mystery to me why these things happen, but it is always the case when it comes to money.

The quote "Where there is no vision, the people perish" comes to mind. I've made thousands of dollars by getting in early on Bitcoin, Dash, and Steemit. I've told people this and they go, "meh." It seems to me that the only people who are open to cryptocurrencies are those who are geeks and/or freedom-loving.

True. Well, I guess we all have that time when we believe in great things. I didn't join Bitcoin or Dash earlier and that's sad. But I am in Steemit at least :)

Thats why I dont listen to my friends or what they have to say. People with that sort of mindset are common and will catch on later. Thats their nature. They said the same about BTC with me, and now are blowing up my phone several times a week with questions. A few already are looking for ways to invest that BTC they finally ended up buying. - Patience is the key here brother. I believe STEEM is a great thing for Crypt0 as a whole.

That is so true! Of course, it is hard to predict the future of anything new, but the trend should be clear even to blind people. More and more people are looking for ways to get rid of banks. And the crypto world is the first solution that comes to my mind. I don't say everyone should start buying in crypto right away, but it is ignorant to be ignorant towards crypto as a whole.
I am still learning new things and most of my money is invested in Steem. I really believe that it might the bridge between the real and crypto worlds. Only time will show I guess. Thanks for your insightful reply!

Anytime brother, take care.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59