Adventures with Burst

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

My Plex server runs 24/7 and sat idle most of the day. As it uses my NAS for media storage I decided to turn over 500GB of its HDD to Burst Mining to see what it is all about.

If you have not encountered Burst yet it is a Crypto that uses HDD capacity to hold pre-calculated nonces, know as Proof of Capacity, instead of the huge compute power required by POW to secure the block chain.

I know going into this that 500GB is not going to make me rich but I really want to explore the process and see it in action.

First up I needed a Wallet, I grabbed the QBundle from the Burst site. This walks you through wallet generation which is painless. I left that downloading the blockchain and then tools selected Tools->PlotDrive which brings up the following dialog.

Simply select plot location and size. If this is your first/only plot start nonce at 0, this is combined with you account number so are unique for everyone

You can see the plotting window in the background, this takes a while so I will do a follow up when that completes and I connect to a pool.

Woz

Sort:  

Interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.93
ETH 3441.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63