Adventures in burst - cheap AliExpress enclosures could be better

So my burst test server has been running a few days so I connected to it to check everything was ok.... it wasn't.

The 250GB external drive I had put an extra plot onto had failed, no longer seen by the server.

I disconnected it and reconnected, the classic have you turned it on and off again, and all was fine. Looks like it is just a stability issue with the cheap enclosure and the constant HD Wakeup signals it was being sent. The enclosure was something I picked up on AliExpress ages ago for about $5 USD so to be expected I guess.

My take away from this is that if you want to run external drives with plot files, as you see many people do, then use a quality enclosure or you will spend ages trying to keep them running.

For now I will just stick with the original 500GB plot on the server drive as this is just to test mining and see what it is about.

Woz

Sort:  

I would really like to start mining Burst, but I can't seem to find 1 coin to set it up. I think that is a real stumbling block to getting people to use there platform. How did you get your first unit to set things up?

Just go to a mining pool. Most have a faucet that will give you 2-3 coins as long as you wallet has no transactions against it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17