You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin Mining Vs Electricity Consumption

I think that excessive electricity consumption required to secure transactions is indeed a problem. How much coal do we need to burn to process these transactions? Thousands of tons of coal and same CO2, NO and PM emission. This is why I don't invest into POW cryptocurrency and strongly believe in POS. Bitcoin mining is not a problem for the UK as British electricity prices are so high that Bitcoin mining is not profitable.

Sort:  

So I have researched a bit about this and currently only about 60% of the Electricity comes from Burning coal the Rest comes from Nuclear and Renewable Energy.

And you can't ignore the recent Public interests in Solar Power. Hell I am planning on buying some Solar Panels for my New House.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27