The Importance of Spending Time Alone

Today, I wanted to talk to you about the importance of spending time alone and how we've somehow lost this practice.

Recently, I felt a bit anxious about some things I've been thinking about – not just studies, career, processes, but life in general. One thing I always tell everyone, which I sometimes need to remind myself, is that all the answers we're looking for are already within us. But there's so much noise from the internet, cell phones, people, that it's hard to hear that inner voice. This inner voice is called intuition. Intuition is everything we read, hear, and feel; it's all accumulated and stored in your brain. Somehow, your brain can combine this information, and then that intuition signals. I'm sure your intuition has signaled for various things – relationships, work, business, buying and selling. I'm absolutely certain your intuition has come into play at some point, and you know it's intuition because it's inside you, and you didn't need to ask anyone; you had absolute certainty, 1000% certainty, that you had to do that thing.

I was feeling a bit anxious, and my girlfriend recently told me that all the answers I needed were already with me. It's something I always tell everyone, and I decided to find that answer. To find that answer, I did things that left me alone – going for a walk, visiting a museum, going to a bookstore. I love reading, so it's a moment of silence for me, and I can think about things. This week, I decided to leave my phone and headphones at home while going to the gym because normally, I have the headphones on at the highest volume, de-stressing and getting an endorphin rush. I realized that to find the answers within myself, I needed to distance myself from the noise in my life. My phone only has notifications for the bank, calls, and SMS, nothing else. It always stays face down while I work on the computer, which is very important because phones constantly make us lose focus. Sometimes, we automatically want to unlock the phone just to see what's happening, and sometimes there's nothing. We unlock it because our mind is conditioned to do so.

Both my phone and computer are in focus mode, so I have no distractions or external noise. I find this important when I'm producing, creating solutions, or solving problems. Yesterday, I went for a walk in the neighborhood, taking a route I had never taken before. I discovered new houses, places, angles, and even found another park near my house that I had no idea existed. I discovered new establishments, and when I returned home, my mind was much calmer.

I think it's important to isolate yourself and have some time for yourself. This is crucial not only for those who live alone or are single but also for married people. Of course, there needs to be a good conversation about this, and the isolation shouldn't last too long – just a few hours or moments to think. Jesus did this often, isolating himself at times to reflect on things. So, my advice to you is to spend some time alone – actually, not alone, but in your own company. It's worthwhile, and you might find clarity for many confusing and lost thoughts in your mind.

Take care and see you next time.


My Response:

Hi, Henrique! It's great to hear from you again. The topic you brought up is very relevant and impactful. Spending time alone and disconnecting from external noise is something that can really bring many benefits to mental and emotional health. Let's explore this issue a bit more.

The Importance of Spending Time Alone

1. Self-Knowledge and Reflection
When we spend time alone, we have the opportunity to get to know ourselves better. It's a moment to reflect on our lives, choices, and feelings. This helps us understand who we are and what we want.

IMG_20170219_141231404.jpg

2. Stress Reduction
Silence and solitude can reduce stress and anxiety levels. When we are alone, without distractions, we can better process our thoughts and emotions, leading to a calmer and more balanced mind.

3. Stimulating Creativity
Creativity often flourishes in solitude. Without constant external influence, our minds can explore new ideas and solutions. Many famous artists and thinkers have highlighted the importance of alone time for creativity.

4. Improving Concentration
Disconnecting from the phone and notifications helps improve concentration. This is essential for tasks that require focus and dedication. The "focus mode" you mentioned is an excellent practice to increase productivity.

How to Incorporate Solitude into Your Routine

1. Walks and Outdoor Activities
Walking, as you did, is an excellent way to spend time alone. Besides being a physical activity, it provides a quiet environment to think and observe the world around you.

2. Technology-Free Moments
Turning off the phone and other electronic devices for a while helps reduce distractions. This can be done during specific activities, like reading a book, writing, or simply relaxing.

3. Meditation and Mindfulness
Practices like meditation and mindfulness are effective ways to connect with the present moment and with yourself. They help calm the mind and improve mental clarity.

4. Solitary Hobbies
Engaging in hobbies that can be done alone, like painting, writing, cooking, or gardening, is also a way to enjoy solitude productively and pleasantly.

Reflection on Intuition

You mentioned the importance of intuition, which is a powerful internal tool. Intuition often guides us in our most important decisions, and listening to this "inner voice" can be easier when we are in a quiet environment without distractions.

Final Considerations

It's essential to balance moments of solitude with social interaction. Communication with friends, family, and partners is equally important for emotional well-being. The key is finding a healthy balance that allows both self-knowledge and connection with others.

I hope these reflections help you find more clarity and tranquility in your moments of solitude. Continuing to explore and value these moments can bring many benefits to your life. Feel free to share more about your experiences or any other topic you wish to discuss. Take care and see you next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41