You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: John McAfee is charging $105,000 per promotional crypto tweet.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Basically the website and McAfee feed is a list of stuff to avoid for the long term. I think Verge is a decent project. But it was and still is overvalued compared to other projects that use Zerocoin and still unbroken Dash PrivateSend.

McAfee is the idiot who climed he'd eat his dick on live television if BTC doesn't hit $ 500K USD by 2020. That's just madness especially considering:

Sort:  

Well to each their own. I personally would never trust verge with any money considering all the crazy crap that seems to happen to them. There are much better, tried and tested coins in the privacy sector.

But yeah McAfee is a crazy person. If you haven't, you should watch the documentary about him on netflix - called Gringo. Pretty interesting stuff.

I was impressed by their vision, roadmap and "Black" Paper. I did consider it to be overvalued compared to projects like Zcash and Dash. The recent instamine hack was some bad PR. I initially had my doubts because of the lack of proper funding for a solid dev team (Dash, PIVX, Zcash are all self-funded with a treasury system). The comunity is one of the most hyped and FUD resistant. So I'd be doing some short term buying/selling (as I've done before). But XVG isn't a long term pick for me (at the current state).

I think those are some fair reasons. Perhaps, I will consider looking into XVG's road map and black paper some more.

Although, I dislike treasury systems and funding models, likely because Bitcoin doesn't have a funding model and I got into crypto because of Bitcoin (I guess I'm sort of a Bitcoin minimalist in some ways). Premines, treasury systems all just seem like ways to make their founders rich.

But yeah... the hack did some serious damage to their reputation enough that I likely won't ever be investing with them. Perhaps, I'll write up an article but I doubt it would convince me to diversify into XVG.

Then again I'm a big holder of XMR, while it still has it's issues, like the recent ASIC hard forking issues and potential for transaction linking - I've never felt those issues to be as serious to some of the other privacy coins. Ultimately, I want to support, own, and use the most untraceable currency.... whatever that may be.

Actually not having a treasury leads to centralization. If it doesn't lead to centralization, then the development and promotion takes a hit. Premines are a way for the creators to get rich. But a DAO treasury is completely different. DAOs are allowed to be financially independent. It is the community that decide how to spend the funds. Dash and PIVX allocate 10% of their funds to community proposals and SmartCash actually reserve 70% of newly created coins to community projects.

Since XMR is going through regular forks anyways, ASICs are not concern for me. The real problem is this:
I know they fixed a great deal of these problems. But After researching what happened and looking at the high fees I'm never going to HODL XMR although I mine it on my PC.

Currently I prefer ZeroCoin implementations and Dash. Zerocoin a\cannot be retroactively de-anonymized. The only real problem is the trusted setup. Dash PrivateSend isn't a very user friendly easy to use experience but from what I know, unless a person owns a huge amount of Masternodes, you are pretty much safe.

This is why I love McAfee, crazy old bastard doing stupid shit! He is so entertaining!

Yeah, transaction speed is great. Maybe you should consider stop supporting bid bots. Once they are gone, perhaps Steem will reach a potential you have yet to realize.

Shitcoiners don't even spend time transacting their coins everyday. Oh because they're supporting shitcoins.. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66