Switching It Up

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago (edited)


As the market picks up and my profile rises, I've started getting a lot of demands for my time. Too many. Some of them self-inflicted!

I publish every week, sometimes more often. On top of that, I push out a monthly newsletter to my email list and post on Quora. Also, I continually get people asking me to go on YouTube, a request I should oblige sooner than later.

Chugging along

As a small voice in a niche space, it's hard to see progress from day to day. Sometimes it seems like I have no impact until I step back and look at my growth over the past year, since I went public with Consensusland: A Cryptocurrency Utopia and started publishing in earnest.

On a growth chart, all my metrics look really good, despite my relatively small platform compared to others. Of course, when you start from zero, any growth seems big, but the pace has started picking up lately.

I would like to build on that momentum. But, with only an hour or two (or less) each day to dedicate to my writing and everything else that comes with it, each bit of effort needs to get a result.

Special thanks to everybody who's read my books, responded to my emails/DMs, or reached out to me personally. You guys kept me motivated when it seemed like my work was going nowhere!

New beginning

I'm really interested in cryptocurrency and enjoy playing a very small role in its growth and development. Meanwhile, I need to balance that with family, day job, social events, housework, and property management, in addition to the networking and research that goes into my content. In other words, all the things that happen in real life.

After querying my email subscribers, I plan to create a paid newsletter, Crypto is Easy. Learn more about it here: Crypto is Easy.

I chose the name because the cryptosphere needs to take it easy. In the coming months and years, prices will go crazy, governments will say and do all sorts of crazy things, social media will circulate crazy rumors, bitcoin will crash like crazy a few times, and lots of other craziness will ensue.

Yes, I said crazy a lot. Crypto is crazy. It's full of drama, anger, fear, heartache, paranoia, and sadness.

If history is any guide, bitcoin's price will drop 30% at least twice this year, possibly more often next year. Those price drops may terrify you. After all, it’s hard to know whether this is normal volatility, the end of a market cycle, or the last gasp of a dying asset.

It really doesn't have to be that way. We’re building the financial networks of the future. We’re on the right side of history.

For me, I look at the big picture, drawing on my two decades in government, a decade of investment experience, and enough understanding of cryptocurrency to have a decent grasp of how it will probably evolve. In Crypto is Easy, I'll share my perspective and my plan for making the best of this bull market. I'll also have an open discussion thread so you can share your perspective, too.

What's next

For the rest of 2020, I'll publish lots of free content as I always have, mostly about four topics:

  • Engagement with people outside the cryptosphere
  • Evolution of DeFi
  • Tokenization of everything
  • Market sentiment (and, of course, bitcoin's price)

Perhaps not every week, though.

Crypto is Easy will focus more on investing, altcoins, and market developments (including regulations and government actions). My goal: for all of us to make better decisions about cryptocurrency. I expect to learn as much from you as you learn from me.

Whether bitcoin shoots up to the moon or crashes down to $1,000, I assure you 2020 and 2021 will be really, really interesting. It's great to know we're all in this together.

Relax and enjoy the ride!


Mark Helfman is a top writer on Medium for cryptocurrency, finance, and bitcoin topics. His book, Consensusland, explores the social, cultural, and business challenges of a fictional country that runs on cryptocurrency. In a past life, he worked for U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi.


Sign up for my newsletter:



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://markhelfman.com/2020/02/21/switching-it-up/
Sort:  

I wish you success with your pay subscription.

Congratulations @vdux! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94