A. Antonopoulos: What is Consensus? Rules without Rulers... Great Clarity As Always.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I can count the number of technical speakers on Blockchain that I trust on less than one hand, but one is clearly Andreas Antonpoulos. He combines broad understanding of the world environment, with pretty thorough awareness of the fine points of Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies in general.. So I recommend that anyone wanting to learn about these subjects to listen to him in detail.

In this presentation from November 2017 he covered the topic of 'who is in charge of Bitcoin?' - making clear that the entire Bitcoin blockchain system is resistant to governance and rulers - which demonstrates it's inherent Anarchic ethos.

I generally agree with everything he says here, with the addition that I am not 100% sure that Bitcoin cannot be controlled by whoever has the most money, since as far as I am aware the consensus in the Bitcoin system is measured by the percentage of miners who choose each of the available forks that exist (such as Bitcoin Gold/Core/Cash in the case of Bitcoin) and mining can be dominated by those who have the most money to invest in it. Maybe I am missing something here though?

He introduces the intelligent observation that government (if it exists at all), in order for it to be fair, should be separated from the money supply (akin to church separation from state). In practice, however, this might prove to be very difficult to achieve without a cryptocurrency/blockchain type of setup whereby the entire currency is transparent - but even then it is, in my understanding, still open to a certain degree of 'anonymous' control via miners and their influencers/backers - who may just happen to be government agents.

In any case, this is a relatively short talk that is well worth listening to and which will maybe help some newcomers to cryptocurrency understand some of the core concepts that the mainstream likes to deny and censor since it doesn't fit their narrative.

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


signature

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness
View My Witness Application Here


ureka.org

Sort:  

Hey i saw your interview on bases, at first i thought where have i seen this man before, then it clicked haha, very interesting to listen to and hear your story mate. :)

hehe - nice synchronicity! thanks for letting me know. i might go back for a part 2 at some point soon.

Great post! I have recently gotten into blockchain technology and its taken me significant time to understand how and more importantly why it works the way it does. I have watched the presentation above recently and it is very helpful. I am checking your witness application as well!

Great, welcome to Steemit! My witness application thread will give you some context for Steemit against Bitcoin too. :)
Thanks for your witness vote, I follow everyone who votes for me as a witness, so followed you here!

Thanks for the follow @ura-soul. I look forward to enjoying more of your content and understanding this platform and currency more...

@ura-soul yes Andreas is a wonderful speaker with wonderful insight..............

Thank you for your research. It's good to keep asking these questions to improve your understanding & help us improve our understanding. It's unchartered territory for me & others. Resteemed

Great post ! Thanks for share with us !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30