You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Ripple is better than Bitcoin and Ethereum

Your argument is valid, though it is an emotional one. Though I own XRPs, I too have some reservations, mainly related to the fact that Ripple Labs has a huge number of XRPs locked up, which they eventually will place into the market, which will lead to dilution. In addition, I am worried about the already high market cap op Ripple. On the other hand, XRP seems to be(come) banks preferred blockchain pick to speed up their settlements, so there is a case for it.

Sort:  

There is most certainly a case for it. The ongoing integration in the existing financial system is a big plus because they seem the first to really bringing banks onboard. For consumers, getting faster and cheaper payments is always a plus.

I am also looking at Stellar which also seems to aim at integration in the existing financial system with an open source network governed by a foundation in Germany, accessible to all. Stellar will open an airdrop soon (Bitcoin account with a balance + Facebook login outside of USA/some other States) is sufficient to join. I guess Stellar needs more attention but I always welcome free entry.

I agree on Stellar (which is in fact a fork of Ripple (2014)). However, I sold off my STRs about a month ago, as I was getting some fear of heights after the sharp un up.

What I particularly like about Stellar is that it is built upon a distributed open source Internet protocol and that it does not allow freezing the currency (as far as I know).

What is also worth noting is that, over time (though very slowly), the amount of XRP will decrease, whereas STR has a 1% p.a. inflation factor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62581.77
ETH 2546.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75