Video: What is a cross-chain protocol? (Cosmos, Polkadot, Interledger)

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Hi folks!

I've received a lot of questions lately about some of the new cross-chain protocols being built, including Cosmos, Polkadot and Interledger. In this video I walkthrough each of them and discuss what they do differently.

I really think these protocols have the potential to usher in a whole new generation of innovative blockchain applications, so definitely something to keep a close eye on!

If you have any questions just drop them in the comments below :)

Sort:  

This video kinda went over my head, must do more research!

btw
https://steemit.com/blog/@chrone/top-5-favorite-steem-authors

I'm resteeming your stuff as often as I can to my 600+ followers. Love the videos, great work

Fantastic video for someone just discovering cross-blockchain protocols - I went to a Berkeley meetup and they talked at length about Tendermint and mentioned Cosmos, the Ethermint "hard spoon - a friendly fork" (gotta love nerd humor) so fortunately I understood pretty much everything you talked about.

A question about Cosmos - so if there are multiple Cosmos Hubs being operated are they actually separate, or because as you say Cosmos Hub itself is a blockchain can they all talk to each other using the same cross-blockchain protocol? Then we end up with a mesh of hubs?

I really like the features of Polkadot that reward full node collators and the fishermen. As for exchanging data between chains - I feel like that is less important if you use a separate chain itself like IPFS or even a blockchain database like Bluzelle to share data. I haven't looked at how Polkadot stores/moves data but it seems like anything but trivial amounts shouldn't really be on the chain itself. I guess only time will tell...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66544.05
ETH 3487.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72