You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some weaknesses in either the DPOS algorithm or its explanation

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I'm putting this in as a comment because I don't want to change my article after people have already read it.

There's a fourth problem and I don't know how to handle this one, either.

So let's say we have a witness who has been nothing but stellar and perfect reputation. Either the witness becomes a bad person, was already a bad person - or maybe just got hacked. Suddenly, a bad transaction is introduced. A huuuuge bad transaction, like, a million dollars worth.

How is that ever reversed? I mean, fair enough, we can now 'vote the jerk out' - but that million dollar transaction is part of the blockchain now (or a million-dollar transaction has been censored out). Somebody may have just gotten shafted pretty hard, there. What happens next?

Sort:  

Answering again: The next witness in that round will immediately reject the block and make witness one miss a block. After 24 hours of missed blocks that witness is automatically disabled. And we have alerts for missing blocks and will by then already have multiple witnesses screaming that that witness is hacked.

(answering all this as a steem witness, bts is similar but can have subtle differences)

These are great answers, @reggaemuffin. Anywhere you know of where I can read this level of in-depth protocol nerdery? Or would I have to go trudging through the source?

Most of my knowledge is from using steem, from being a witness, from developing apps for the Blockchain and from other apps that visualize some of it. The actual steem source is something I did not yet have the time to go through.

If you have any questions, ask me and I can try to answer them and/or point you to good resources where you can read about them.

(if you like what I do and feel I am beneficial to the Blockchain, vote me as a witness 😉)

Done!!!

Thank you for your support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44