General CryptoCurrency (A.K.A Crypto) Knowledge

Crypto.jpg

Crypto, what is it?

If you look up the meaning of the word crypto you will find it is short for cryptography, which is the art of writing or solving codes (per the online dictionary). The meaning of Cryptocurrency is a digital currency in which encryption techniques are used to regulate the generation of units of currency and verify the transfer of funds, operating independently of a Centralized Banking System.

cryptocurrency.png

How did cryptocurrency start?

The financial crisis of 2008, followed by the housing market crash of 2009 is what “started” cryptocurrency. A person by the name of Satoshi Nakamoto released the worlds 1st cryptocurrency dubbed Bitcoin in 2009 based upon blockchain technology.

Satoshi Nakamoto.jpg

What is block chain technology?

In short it is decentralized technology. What does that mean? That means that the “files” are not stored in one location but rather they are broken up and stored in MANY places. (Decentralized)

blockchain.jpg

What does this all mean?

That is up for you to decide. Cryptocurrency puts you in charge of your money… no bank, no government… just you. Let me ask you this… How often do you carry cash? Most people today do not have cash on hand but instead have credit cards and debit cards for all their purchasing needs. Most are already using digital currency when they use a credit card but do not realize that they are using digital currency.

Cover.jpg

My opinion?

I know that the US dollar is worth less than it was a year ago. It is hidden though. Instead of keeping prices on items the same, prices have gone up to cover the fact that the dollar is not really worth an entire dollar. I have noticed that people do not carry cash, I am guilty of that myself. I use my debit card for just about everything. Personally I think that cryptocurrency put my money back into my hands, giving me control.

Cover1.png

For me that means I need to do a lot more research. While I love the aspect of controlling my own money, there is a responsibility that comes with that. There are 1355 digital currencies out there called coins/tokens and there are more being released every day, or at least it seems that way. The current list is located here at https://coinmarketcap.com/ (coinmarketcap). Each coin has their own mission statement as to what they do and what they stand for. One example would be Monero-(XMR), it is a digital currency that is totally untraceable. I like that. The fact that I can buy something and NOBODY get to know what my money on is spent on or where it came from/went nor how much.

Please share your thoughts, comments, and concerns below… I look forward to reading them! Also shoot on over to www.truthbeyondlies.com to check us out.

Sort:  

Congratulations @truthbeyondlies! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88