Warning fellow miners on potential fire risk. ( I LOVE EVERYONE ESPECIALLY PET'S SO I SHARE THIS INFO)

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Hello all just want to share some information on things I learned and experienced when I first started mining crypto currency.
I started mining 11/2/17 and it's been a learning experience ever since. Some of this stuff can't be learned in college but with trial and error and working with the mining community really made things easier to understand. So here I offer some advice and tips to to help others that are just getting into the mining scene.
If in need of help or need advice on mining, from hardware to software let me know.

GPU RISER CABLE FIRE HAZARD
Power burn cable.jpg

When I first started mining I was not sure if this venture was going to be profitable so I kinda went cheap on the gpu risers and bought the cheapest I could find on amazon.
https://www.amazon.com/Powered-Riser-Adapter-Extension-Cable/dp/B01M4K49OS/ref=sr_1_16?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1516201794&sr=1-16&keywords=gpu+riser

After the first week of using some of these gpu risers I had a total of three connectors burn out. I also had an issue with one of the gpu risers where the power delivery port melted and smoked for quite sometime.
Please readers if you plan on mining get you're selves smoke detectors and place them near the miners.
Power delivery melted.jpg

SOooooo here is the Fix!!!
best gpu riser.jpg
Link to buy below
https://www.amazon.com/Relper-Lineso-Powered-Riser-Adapter-Extension/dp/B071LQFCN4/ref=sr_1_14?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1516201794&sr=1-14&keywords=gpu+riser

What make's this a better gpu riser and intern safer is the power delivery and the power cable.
Power 2 yellow.jpg

The power cable has two yellow positive feeds which allow for an efficient and safer power draw. basicaly the yellow cables will not get as hot because it is now split into two where the other design has only one. And the thickness of the metal where the power delivery is located is really thick where the cheaper design lacks big time.
Notice the metal prongs how thick they are mhmmm I like dem thick!
power delivery better.jpg

If you are one of those that bought the cheap version of a gpu riser like I did and the cable burns out you can use one from the power supply molex connectors which will do a lot better due to the quality and martial used.

The cable end looks like this
cable option.jpg
and connect it like this
one option.jpg

Thank you all hope this information was helpful. Please click the follow button and up-vote it would be appreciated.

Sort:  

Nice to meet you - We saw your post in discord. Thank you for the compliment, we do our best. I see you have some nice information about mining. Are you experienced in mining?

THX,
Itswetz

I have built computers for over 15+ years always been a nerd just turned my passion into building mining rigs. I started 3 months ago Nov 2nd 2017 so I am still learning a lot. I am in the processes of posting some of the miners on steemit in about an hourI so you can have an idea when its done I will let you know. I try to keep everything under budget, a lot of materiel you could find around the house. Currently mining Smartcash and Ethereum

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69245.03
ETH 3778.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51