Understanding How Sola Works: The Difference Between AP and SOL

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Hey guys - I've made a couple posts about Sola lately, a new social media website similar to Twitter and Instagram that pays you to participate, even though it's 100% free to join. I've have gotten some good questions about it that I wanted to clarify, because Sola works a bit differently than Steemit (though it has a lot of the same principles.)

Understanding "AP" on Sola

AP stands for "Action Points" on Sola. It is not the same as SOL, the currency of Sola. When you browse Sola, you view cards, and you can choose to skip a card (by swiping down on your mobile phone, or pressing space bar on your PC) or "endorse" it by swiping up.

If you "endorse" a card, you spend 5 AP by default, but you can choose to spend as much as 100 AP endorsing a single card (be careful - you can do this by accident, as I've found out, by swiping up and holding for too long) or a single comment. You can also "endorse" comments.

When you "endorse" a card, that makes it appear more frequently to other users in the network. Cards that have been endorsed with more total AP are more likely to appear when browsing new content in the app.

You get over 100 AP per day awarded to your account by Sola, as long as you login to the app to claim it... and the more you browse, comment, view and endorse cards (you know, use the network they built!) the more AP you are awarded per day. I get close to 200 AP most days since I started, and I only spend about 15-20 minutes browsing and commenting.

I have quite a little stash of AP built up already, so I splurge my AP on people who sign up through my referral link (which gives me 5 SOL and 100 AP when you sign up, thanks!)

Understanding "SOL" on Sola

SOL is the cryptocurrency of Sola. When your cards or comments are "endorsed" by other people's AP, or Action Points, (you cannot endorse or upvote yourself in any way as you can on Steemit) not only will your content be more visible on the network, but that AP is converted into SOL in your account.

Although the rate is very likely to change as time goes on, currently, it appears that 1 AP from someone else equals roughly 0.0743 SOL to your account. Considering less than 150 million SOL will ever be in circulation, this isn't a bad rate at all! Currently, the SOL you earn is not tradeable, and won't be until after the ICO ends.

It's hard to explain everything in Sola without checking it out for yourself. I highly suggest registering and downloading the app, both of which are 100% free to join, and you are granted 5 free SOL just for joining Sola.

If you decide you want to participate in their ICO (which is selling off a small portion of their 150 million overall token stash) you can get an extra 5% SOL on top of what you buy by using this link. It also grants me an extra 5% of what you bought as a referral reward, so we both win. :-)

You can use BTC, ETH, LTC, BTS (BitShares), BitUSD and many other currencies to join the ICO.

Thanks for reading, I hope that helps! The best way to experience Sola is to start using it, because like Steemit, it's hard to explain until you use it. But I got the hang of it pretty quickly, I know you will too.

Go Here To Register Free (Get 5 Free SOL!)

Go Here To Participate in the Sola ICO
(Get 5% Extra Through This Link)

If you join Sola, let me know your username by commenting below and I'll be sure to check out and endorse your cards to earn you some quick SOL!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67108.48
ETH 3477.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72