Short selling crypto currencies

Hello community,

I know we're in a somewhat weird territory where everyone has gotten so used to 1000% gains, and now that the market is cooling off a bit we're not too sure what to do. Now, there's a whole different discussion around whether this is a genuine bubble bursting or this is a "take one step back to move two forward" type of situation. But regardless of which camp you are in, one of the things that came to my mind straight away is (coming from a stock trading background), surely there's opportunities to trade both sides of the trade, upwards and downwards?

Given that I'm new here I honestly don't have the answer to this question so I figured I'd just put it out to the community here. So my question to you is: are there any exchanges that already allow short selling crypto currencies?

I know Steemians, trading has a bad rep in this community and short selling even worse!, but let's not ignore it - it is inevitable in a growing industry.

Thanks for your responses!
Jeroen (aka The Transparent Trader)

Sort:  

I believe you can short on Bitshares and OpenLedger.

Great, thanks! I'll check them out.

You can margin trade/short sell for instance on poloniex. Just transfer balances into your margin account, go to margin trading and sell the coin you want to sell. You will also see the loan rate (currently 2%) that you will have to pay (actually I think its an upper bound).
In turn you can also lend your coins to margin traders for interest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36