Crypto Research on Youtube - where do I go?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians!

When you start noticing the crypto world I'd say 9/10 times it would be because someone - a mate, a co-worker, some random dude on the subway, it doesn't really matter - makes some sort of a remark along the following lines: "I know a guy/girl who bought into bitcoin years ago at <insert price point> and made <insert price x 1000%>. Well if that doesn't get your attention I'd be very very surprised. 

But where do you go from there? I mean, typing in Bitcoin on google would be a good start but this will give you about 142 million hits right now...not helpful. The tool I find very useful is youtube. So when I started researching the crypto currencies I started by looking around at youtube for some "experts" to learn from. I "quoted" experts because with anything on the internet about 90% of the people posting up videos are self-proclaimed experts and not worth your time. So it does take a it of time before you come across some people that actually make sense and you can learn from.  On a side note, wouldn't it be amazing if youtube was curated like Steemit??

Anyways, below I have a list 4 people I have found so far (remember I'm just starting) that I have learned from. But before you go off and have a look at their content, please be aware: don't take ANYTHING you hear or see as gospel. These are people that view the world as they see it, not necessarily as it is. In many cases there are incentives in play to talk about certain currencies and avoid talking about others. That doesn't mean that you can't learn from them though. And that's the main objective here, you want to get to a point where you are self-sufficient and make up tyour own thesis on what you're seeing.

So, these are the people I have found so far:

  1. Cedric Dahl; he runs a Crypto hedge fund and his videos are good to get an idea about how someone runnning a hedge fund looks at opportunities. Very long term view.
  2. The Modern Investor. This guy has been playing the crypto markets for a long time and just listening to how he approached the market is valuable. In his videos he's giving lots of first hand experiences as well of which you can learn from.
  3. Craig Grant. This guy doesn't need an introduction on Steemit! @craig-grant check him out yourself. View the world from someone that is in the thick of it.
  4. Vincent Briatore. I guess from all the above the least "clean" youtube channel and I have to say that the justification for his calls lack substance from time to time but he does make a lot of calls and seems to be doing well for himself so there's something to learn from how he approaches the market.

I'm sure this list will change and added to over the next weeks / months / years but I hope this could be helpful for someone completely new to this market to start gaining a better understanding. 

I also came across this post on Steemit that was useful for those that are using Twitter: 

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@koenfolkerts/12-crypto-daytraders-i-follow-on-twitter-and-who-helped-me-make-money#@vincentbriatore/re-koenfolkerts-12-crypto-daytraders-i-follow-on-twitter-and-who-helped-me-make-money-20170624t002816571z

Check it out. I'm using twitter but not very frequently, maybe this is a good time to start paying attention to these people more often...

If you have any additions or questions or comments, let me know!

Cheers, Jeroen (aka The Transparent Trader)

Sort:  

you forgot to mention @crypto_trader(https://twitter.com/crypto_trader) been investing and trading crypto since the beginning

Great, I'll check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62630.85
ETH 2463.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61