You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do YOU have 2FA enabled? Do you use a password manager? The convenience of cutting these corners is NOT worth the risk!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

HOLLY COW! This is why I have not bought any cryptos yet. I want to know I am secure. Lots of security solvers have come out but I want to wait a little longer. I have come to the conclusion though, that keeping my wallet offline is the best solution. I am contemplating a stand alone computer that only gets turned on when I want to do transfers, paper wallet and/or flash drive. Actually I am thinking multiple. Like multiple wallets that I transfer through to my main storage. I know I know, this seems like overkill, but right now, it is the best I can come up with :O

Sort:  

You have just described how cold storage could be achieved in the old days - before hardware wallets existed.

For supported cryptos, a Trezor/Ledger will enable the same level of security as an offline computer used for signing transactions (which you would have to sneaker-net to an online computer in order to broadcast), with the convenience of creating transactions from an online device.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65