You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coinbase, Gemini, Bittrex, or...?

Thanks for the reply! Yeah I've only started with sub-$100 amounts to get the feel of it. Kind of scared me at first when I found out you could lose whole amounts of currency if you tried sending to the wrong type of wallet...but once I got everything straight in my head, it's not too bad. Used Shapeshift for the first time last night. Pretty useful!

I forgot about Coin Option...I read about it yesterday and I think I added them to my bookmarks tab, but haven't looked at their interface yet.

I think Coinbase is ok if you need to buy large amounts of BTC, but fees end up being way too big for smaller transactions imo.

Right now I've decided to try Gemini for Fiat to major crypto, then sending to Bittrex, via Shapeshift, for altcoin trades. Unless there's a better way?

Sort:  

I will probably need to go back and review my process now after thinking about it. Probably some better ways for me to do things for sure. It seems like you have found a good, safe method with reputable services so you should be good!
Apologies, when I said "Coin option", I was referring to the selection of coins on Bittrex.com. I am not aware of an exchange called Coin Option but it sounds interesting from the name.

Some advice from a fellow beginner, be wary about putting too much of your portfolio into altcoins too early. With events like the forks coming up, things may happen quickly and you could lose a lot of value fast. Holding Btc, Eth, and to an extent Xrp (3 largest by market cap) is just as good or better than holding a basket of coins during uncertainty. You got this though, no worries!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55