Crypto News: EOS Update and Tools for Making the Most of Mainnet!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Hey folks, just wanted to write a short post today updating you on a few new developments with EOS and leaving a few tools here for you to play around with.

It has been an exciting week with a lot of new developments and for the most part I'm really impressed with the current set of main BPs and what they are doing to improve the ecosystem at the moment.

Yesterday I must admit I was alarmed that EOS needed to be paused yesterday due to some minor errors but the BPs managed to get it fixed in under 5 hours and its running and purring like a kitten as I write this now!

Here are a few important details about the incident for readers:

Less than 48 hours after going live, the EOS Mainnet has “paused,” according to multiple reports on Twitter and a Steemit post by the top 21 EOS block producers (BPs), June 16.

While the BPs and “many standby nodes” scramble “to identify and fix the issue,” transactions appear to be ”frozen” on the EOS Mainnet. The cause of the freeze in transactions is still unclear, with the EOS Mainnet Status Update on Steemit claiming to be addressing the issue.

EOSUK, one of EOS’ BP candidates, reports that the EOS network monitor currently shows multiple BPs displayed as “red,” meaning that their application programming interfaces (APIs) are not responding.

Now I don't want to point any fingers and it is unclear what exactly happened beyond a glitch that needed patching.

Obviously, this is very normal considering EOS just launched 48 hours ago.

What excites me more are the new tools being developed for EOS.

At the moment I can recommend two that I've found incredibly useful:

1.) The GreyMass EOS Voter - https://github.com/greymass/eos-voter

2.) Scatter EOS wallet - https://get-scatter.com/

One thing that these two tools are missing is the ability to create accounts. Fortunately it seems that Genereos BP just released a full set of tools with account creation being one of them. I'm still working out how to create new accounts with their new GUI and getting 'transaction failed' response. I hope they can modify this tutorial a bit or help me walk through creation in their discord channel.

For people more technically adept than me, check out this tutorial and hop over to their toolkit page!

https://steemit.com/eos/@genereos/eos-toolkit-tutorial-more-features-than-ever

https://toolkit.genereos.io/staking

For now I'm going to keep trying to solve the puzzle and get some new accounts on the books. I am not a developer by trade so using the official EOS Block.One command line tool CLEOS is a bit beyond my pay grade as well. The race is on to build on EOS now! Very excited about what the future holds!

Source:

EOS Mainnet Experiences ‘Freeze’ Two Days After Launch - CoinTelegraph

--

# Join the @Techblogger Movement Today!

I am a technology writer and marketing advisor for the ADSactly Society:



Go Adsactly

I'm proud to be a supporter, patron and builder of the @MinnowBooster @Steemvoter and @BuildTeam projects:


https://www.minnowbooster.com/vote-selling/?ref=1611



http://www.steemvoter.com


Go Buildteam
http://www.buildteam.io

Sort:  

When I read Your Blog is Nice

@techblogger

I just installed Scatter and it's working like a dream and so easy now of to the voting booth :-)

Great, if you figure out or are successful making an account with genereos toolkit, please let me know what the secret is!

That is a bit above my pay grade ;) I used https://eosportal.io/chain/12/producers for voting very easy just have to pair it with scatter, hope this helps.

genereos toolkit : I just went in and fooled around even went to the auction section and bid on a name , you have to have your scatter wallet open and pair with the site but i did not want to fool around with the ram and so on as i do not know enough about it , hope it helps

Make sure you have the new version of Scatter that was launched today.

I figured it out in the end! Needed to make sure the name was available in the block explorer (eospark) and then assuming it was not taken the Genereos toolkit works like a charm for account creation! Thanks for chiming in with ideas though.

Only a pleasure glad you got it figured out , if you only know how whatsapp work this stuff is HARD :-)

I just got lucky by joining the Dona Partners Telegram group and earned 1500 free DNC Token.

My referral link is: https://t.me/DonaPartnersBot?start=611830790

You can also get DNC Token by clicking on the link above.

🎲 Share and forward your referral link to your friends and earn 300 DNC Token for each referral. To be eligible for the rewards, each participant must stay in the telegram group till the end of the ICO period.

📌 Detailed information and rule about the Dona Partners Airdrop, you can read here: https://coindelite.com/ico-press-release/9-5-million-dona-coins-for-first-50k-participants-to-be-airdrop/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93