You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Time to Switch to Crypto Full Time

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Welcome back @daut44! Been missing your posts around here. I've also taken the same CS50 course in the past but found I liked the edX CS MOOC's on python, databasing (R and SQL), and Statistics through MIT and UT Austin better. I found the exercises were more applicable and I liked the instructional videos more.

I have a feeling if you take on trading with the same gusto as fantasy sports and poker, you are going to have equal, if not more, success in your future!

Sort:  

In high school and undergrad I coded mainly in C++ and java, and the limited programming I've done since has been in python so I thought I needed a full refresher, so one that started with C and the basics and built up quickly was attractive. I'll get to the databasing languages eventually, they're part of most full stack curriculums.

This is going to sound ridiculous, but I've never taken stats--one reason why I'm putting off the database languages as I'd like to take a stats class before or concurrently with them. I believe I took every other undergraduate math class and during my short PhD stint I was on the Analysis/Algebra/Logic track so somehow Stats fell through the cracks. I used to think just knowing combinatorics was sufficient, but yea....it's not lol, some of your posts that should have made complete sense were pure gibberish to me. Oh well, just another thing on my list to learn and another reason why I don't want to slave away all baseball season =).

I assume this is part 1 of the stats series you were talking about? https://www.edx.org/course/foundations-data-analysis-part-1-utaustinx-ut-7-11x-0

Good to see you still contributing around here and your posts doing well.

Yep! That's the one I took a while back for a refresher. You would flourish, for sure, but the #1 thing I took from that course wasn't necessarily the stats, but the ability to use the R programming language. The stats instruction was pretty awesome, for sure, But once you get into R, your mind will be racing with all of the applications to stuff you have already doing with analysis- just done so much more efficiently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31