Cryptoinvestors: Diversify your altfolio

Hello, gang. I'm relatively new to cryptoinvesting but can share with you that diverifying your altfolio makes for a less hodl-prone life.

Initially, like many of us newbies, I bought some Litecoin and Ether (Bitcoin seemed too rich for my blood at the time). I got lucky on my first few purchases but did poorly on my next few. Including transaction fees, I ended up with 3.8 LTC for a total of $1582 (over $415 per LTC!). I also spent $1281 on 1.8 Ether (coming in at about $713/ETH). Since it has surged past $1100, you could say I did great there... which is true, except I actually only bought it in order to buy other altcoins and did even better.

I had finally figured out how to trade on Binance, and I had taken the time to get verified there. So most of my purchases on Coinbase were immediately sent to Binance and then changed into low-price altcoins like Ripple (and again, I got in at a good time). So within a few weeks, I had a growing altfolio, but I was still leaning too heavily on Ripple and Stellar Lumens. My modest investment of $3000 had quickly grown to $6500 but then careened back down into the mid-$4000 range. I was starting to panic, making trades between various coins in order to try to trade a coin that was dropping value for another one that was on the way up. I lost at least a hundred bucks that way.

Finally, I ended up with a recipe that has managed to swing up and down only within a $100-200 range, all while climbing at a steady rate. It combines big-ticket items with up-and-comers as well as some fingers-crossed altcoins.

Here is my current suggestion for an investment of about $5500 on Binance:
BIG (about $2000):
BTC (Bitcoin): 0.02 - 0.04 ... or LTC (Litecoin): 1-2
ETH (Ether): 1.2 - 1.8

MEDIUM (about $2500):
XRP (Ripple): 500
XLM (Stellar Lumens): 1000
ADA (Cardano): 500 ... OR Iota (IOTA): 100

UP-AND-COMERS (about $1000)
TRX (Tron): 2000
GTO (Gifto): 400 ... or XVG (Verge): 200
ENJ (Enjin): 300
BNB (Binance): 10-15 (also lowers transaction fees)

Best of luck with your investments!

Sort:  

Congratulations @teacherdave! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @teacherdave! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45