Tokenized World: More Appearing Each Day: Get Paid For.....Walking????

It seems like I keep repeating myself but we are rapidly moving towards a tokenized world. Each day, I am finding more things that appear to incentivize different behaviors.

Want To Get Paid To Exercise????

The latest discovery is a token called Sweatcoin. This is a token that was designed to track the number of steps you take each day. It appears that it is meant to get one outside walking since it uses the GPS on your phone. However, I did read/hear about people who got it to work walking around an apartment. Hence, I am going to hypothesize that this will not work on the treadmill at the gym.

From what I can see, this looks like a private entity as opposed to a public one. According to an article in Techcrunch, the company did raise $5.7M in capital which it plans to use for expansion.

Another thing, it seems that the free version limits one to 5 Sweatcoins per day. There is a way to take some of those tokens and upgrade. All tokens earned are used to redeem for different products they have on their site.

Here is the techcrunch article:

https://techcrunch.com/2018/01/17/sweatcoin-lets-you-earn-crypto-for-working-out/

This is not a traded token listen on Coinmarketcap. However, it could be a way to motivate yourself sum while also working towards a new exercise outfit.

As for the future plans, who knows, perhaps they have an ICO in the works.

This is just another example of what I was referring to when I started mentioning Cryptocurrency 2.0. We are seeing the onset of a new model in which people are incentivized to do most anything. Realistically, the possibilities are limited to whatever one can think of.

We are witnessing the future unfold before our eyes.

To head over to their site, click here.

*please note the link is a referral link...I do appreciate the click.


To receive the free basic income tokens you are entitled to and help end world wide poverty, please click the following:

Click For Manna Coins

Sort:  

Wow! Sweatcoins! Just like you said, we should just expect anything and everything to be tokenised. One day, eating, driving, cooking might all be tokenised. Honestly, the world is getting better. Thanks for sharing.

@taskmaster4450
This is getting to the point that, whats next? a anti-insomnia coin that will incentivise you to sleep through the nite??
Talk about pillow money!
I just read about all the cannabis coins one is the TheHempCoin.. trading as (THC).lol.
Well it looks like all these tokens, atlcoins, etc is a natural move away from the debt burdened fiat system...
Thank you for your golden info.
L

Yes the.human.union.

Some are starting to see what is coming. There are tokens that are going to be popping up all over the place. Many will amount to nothing but some might turn into something substantial...especially if they have the potential to catch the attention of the masses....a walking token makes a lot of sense.

At some point, people are going to realize how big this can become....and then I think we really see an explosion.

Until then, we who are in on it will keep pulling teeth with the people we talk to about it.

Excellent article, thanks for sharing this link. This is an excellent source of additional earnings. I am very glad that for our attention, we are beginning to pay. Good luck to you and Good.

Отличная статья, спасибо, что поделились этой ссылкой. Это отличный источник дополнительного заработка. Я очень рад, что за наше внимания, нам начинают платить. Удачи Вам и Добра.

Hey now! I already walk for my health, so why not get even more out of it. Who knows it the Sweatcoin will take off or not, but it only costs me the time to download the app to get involved. Will use your ref code of course when I sign up @taskmaster4450

Exactly. Will see if it develops into anything but we are moving around anyway, might as well earn some tokens in the process.....

Nothing to lose is my view.

My view as well.

I use this one and I like it a lot! It's a very cute app, and the beginning with the console really sold me on it being legitimate. Well, at least it gave it geek cred points or something.

I did some digging into this one and it seems that the issuance of the token is centralized and the token itself is blockchain based. However it's been awhile, maybe they issued more info. I was not able to figure out any properties of the token... What the consensus mechanism is or how to say run a node yourself (maybe the app itself is doing its part in securing the network, who knows). Would be good to see if I can find it.

I should write my own referral and share too :). Cheers.

Do we still need a universal basic income if we have tokenization for all sorts of activities? Something nice to ponder... Tokenization will turn everyone into an entrepreneur and will keep people creative (and fit ;))

I actually believe, @connecteconomy, that tokens are going to be the basic income that people receive. While there might be some tokens, like Manna, that are for that specific purpose, we will be receiving a lot of other tokens that effectively serve that purpose.

That is amazing @taskmaster4450. People know understand that if you reward people for anything that they do, they start doing things with better performance and with more enthusiasm. I don't know other people, but for me, I always try to make more money as possible, because with more money, I can do all the things that I love to do.

How do you keep finding these tokens, its amazing! I'll have to research into this more, but I'm definitely going to sign up. .. I exercise a couple of times a day (training for American Ninja Warrior) but usually put my phone aside... I am however, also getting ready for a Grand Canyon hiking trip, so this could work for me nicely.

Be interested to see what the application behind SweatCoin is... but this could be huge in breaking crypto into the mass market - people love their FitBits, Stravas, etc.

Thanks for the reply @aussieninja.

I really dont know much about it...it was just forwarded to me last night so I posted it today....overall, I think the idea is valid...I have no idea if the people involved are able to pull it all off.

Nevertheless, worth amassing some tokens for walking...not sure if it will turn into anything over time or into a dud.

Yet it shows the direction we are going in...if these people do not pull it off, I am sure someone will.

Thanks for the heads-up!

Not really sure what to make of this? On the one hand, it's a nice way to incentivise people to exercise more, which can only be a good thing. And I can see that from their perspective, they have deals in place with product & service providers - for which they'll earn referral fees/partnership fees.

However, and I'm just playing devil's advocate here, I wouldn't be overly concerned (I don't think), but you're giving a lot of GPS/location data to them as part of the exchange. I just wonder whether this (potentially very valuable data) is their real goal, and them selling, or otherwise monetising your whereabouts.

By giving over this data, they'd be able to build a detailed picture of your daily life, which together with other data available to them, and other advertisers/marketers via the market...

That is true....and if they were the only ones doing it at this time, I would think you have a point.

However, since Google or Apple are already doing that through your GPS, the info is sold. At least with this, in theory, you get some type of return (if it turns into anything).

Down the road, as we get the trackers out of our lives, I think this will become an issue.

Tis a whole new world - have you seen the new Vice token ico....?. The mind boggles!

Yeah to be 14 again....

If that was around when I was an early teen, I would be rich by now.

Lol 😂

Actually, we might end up being inadvertent Vice token holders as they're using Steem SMT tokens (I think) and I heard that a proportion would be airdropped to steem holders... (that's obviously the only way I would end up holding any... obviously)

With Vice, tokens are the only thing held. LOL.

I am not sure if they are using SMTs. That was the thought initially but it now looks like they are forking the blockchain. Either way, you are right, there is talk that they set aside a certain number of tokens to airdrop to SP holders.

That actually makes sense....I would do that if I was bringing out a token...why not give it to people who understand the reward system and know how to use it. That will create activity...Plus you will have some holders with some voting power to help newbies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81