Is pulling out of Bitcoin the right thing to do?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

No longer accepting bitcoin

m9uaE.png

OK.. Firstly, lets make my position clear, I love Crypto and Bitcoin is King...... However... I think its kind of broken and I want some more opinions.

I bought my first Bitcoin in 2015 followed quickly by some Dash & Litecoin. In 2016 I expanded my portfolio and speculatively bought a range of altcoins and have been saving ever since.

As a self employed sole trader, in April 2016 I decided to start accepting Bitcoin as a method of payment for my services. Take up was verrrry slow initially but eventually word got around and a few Crypto fans started to seek me out. I now have a small number of regular clients who like to pay in Crypro which was great, then all of a sudden Q2 in 2017 happened.

Like anyone who has a few Bitcoins , when prices soar it is exhilarating. but I have come across an unexpected negative. I have absolutely no idea how much to charge anyone anymore? The price fluctuations are so volatile (£1000 in 24hours) that there is no way I can put together a reasonable pricing structure. How can you?

The last crypto client paid in Litecoin as we simply couldn't agree on a BTC price.

So for that reason I no longer accept Bitcoin (which makes me sad). It simply doesn't work as a currency (currently).
Its a good job there are plenty of really good alternatives.

I'd be interested to hear your thoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44