You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflecting on the Value of Steem - Part II

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I've been a user since the Summer and actually took several months break from the site after quickly growing disenchanted with it. I've returned only recently and I guess my initial concerns are resurfacing as I see that nothing has really changed.

The Steemit crew is talking about Smart Media Tokens but I look at Steemit still in a beta version after nearly two years and I have to scratch my head at it all. If you look at Ned's wallet page it is sad actually - just abunch of users sending small amounts of SBD to him pleading for hand outs. I am not sure what kind of image this conveys to investors/traders in the crypto space, and it is no surprise to me that this is not a Top 10 crypto.

I appreciate your feedback nonetheless and if you know of anyone else that may have some input on this post or could share it with whale users that may actually care about the long-term viability of the platform and could potentially influence constructive changes, feel free to spread the word.

Sort:  

Will do- oh, and nix the Unmentionables, check out @thesteemengine instead. (There was, I guess, some breakdown in the Unmentionables, so most of the mods quit and formed @thesteemengine instead.

Thanks - I just followed them!

They've got a whole process to joining fully, but it's explained on their discord channel. Their coolest thing, in my opinion, is their post promotion section- you have to upvote and comment on two other people's posts before each of your own you post (which you can only do once per day). It's a super handy model that fosters a ton of community interaction.

I'm actually surprised someone in the crypto space has not modeled a new social media platform that recognizes and rewards real user engagement and quality content via an underlying blockchain as its foundational basis. Is this something that anyone is doing? I am not aware of any such initiative outside of Steemit.

Up until now social media hasn't been a particular priority of blockchain technology- everyone's just been focused on the cryptocurrency aspect of it. If anything, cryptocurrency is actually holding back the development of blockchain as a viable technology, because everyone just wants to be the next big coin and make a bunch of money, and it's reducing diversification. (Not to mention outside interest in it.)

And yeah, I'm only aware of a few other blockchain based social media platforms- a couple of steemit clones in other languages and a terrible ethereum based one. There's really no other interesting, original blockchain social media networks. (Not that the world necessarily is into many more social media networks- it's proven pretty intolerant to new ones recently, and steemit only made it because it has its own unusual niche.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61833.67
ETH 2414.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57